Help us keep you informed about new legislation that could effect your right to bear arms. Even a small donation helps us keep this running. Please consider signing up for a paying membership or making a donation, every little bit helps.

toggle menu

Proposed Federal Firearm Legislation HB986

  this is an pro-gun bill
Legislation Overview

Title: Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2015

Subject: Civil actions and liability: Firearms and explosives: Intergovernmental relations: Judicial procedure and administration: Legal fees and court costs: State and local government operations: Crime and law enforcement

Description: Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2015 Amends the federal criminal code to authorize a person who is not prohibited from possessing, transporting, shipping, or receiving a firearm under federal law, and who is carrying a valid, government-issued identification document containing that person's photograph and a valid permit issued by any state to carry a concealed firearm, to possess or carry a concealed handgun (other than a machine gun or destructive device) in any other state that permits residents to carry a concealed firearm, in accordance with the restrictions of that state. Makes presentation of facially valid documents prima facie evidence that the individual has a license or permit as required.

Session: 114th Congress

Last Action: Referred to the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, Homeland Security, and Investigations.

Last Action Date: March 16, 2015



Note: the first sponsor listed is normally the primary sponsor. If a sponsor's name is a hyperlink you can click on it to 'follow the money'.

217 sponsors: Richard Hudson; Ralph Abraham; Rick Allen; Mark Amodei; Brian Babin; Lou Barletta; Garland Barr; Joe Barton; Dan Benishek; Gus Bilirakis; Mike Bishop; Rob Bishop; Sanford Bishop; Diane Black; Marsha Blackburn; Rod Blum; Mike Bost; Charles Boustany; Kevin Brady; Dave Brat; Jim Bridenstine; Mo Brooks; Susan Brooks; Larry Bucshon; Michael Burgess; Bradley Byrne; Earl Carter; John Carter; Steve Chabot; Jason Chaffetz; Curt Clawson; Tom Cole; Chris Collins; Doug Collins; Barbara Comstock; Michael Conaway; Paul Cook; Kevin Cramer; Eric Crawford; Ander Crenshaw; Henry Cuellar; John Culberson; Carlos Curbelo; Rodney Davis; Jeff Denham; Charles Dent; Ron DeSantis; Scott DesJarlais; Mario Diaz-Balart; Sean Duffy; Jeff Duncan; John Duncan; Renee Ellmers; Tom Emmer; Blake Farenthold; Stephen Fincher; Charles Fleischmann; John Fleming; Bill Flores; Randy Forbes; Virginia Foxx; Trent Franks; Bob Gibbs; Christopher Gibson; Louie Gohmert; Paul Gosar; Trey Gowdy; Kay Granger; Garret Graves; Sam Graves; Tom Graves; Gene Green; Morgan Griffith; Glenn Grothman; Frank Guinta; Brett Guthrie; Richard Hanna; Cresent Hardy; Gregg Harper; Andy Harris; Vicky Hartzler; Joseph Heck; Jeb Hensarling; Jaime Herrera Beutler; Jody Hice; French Hill; George Holding; Tim Huelskamp; Bill Huizenga; Randy Hultgren; Duncan Hunter; Will Hurd; Robert Hurt; Darrell Issa; Evan Jenkins; Lynn Jenkins; Bill Johnson; Sam Johnson; David Jolly; Walter Jones; Jim Jordan; David Joyce; John Katko; Mike Kelly; Trent Kelly; Steve King; Adam Kinzinger; John Kline; Stephen Knight; Raul Labrador; Doug LaMalfa; Doug Lamborn; Leonard Lance; Robert Latta; Billy Long; Barry Loudermilk; Mia Love; Frank Lucas; Cynthia Lummis; Thomas MacArthur; Kenny Marchant; Tom Marino; Michael McCaul; Tom McClintock; Patrick McHenry; David McKinley; Martha McSally; Mark Meadows; Luke Messer; John Mica; Jeff Miller; John Moolenaar; Alexander Mooney; Markwayne Mullin; Mick Mulvaney; Tim Murphy; Randy Neugebauer; Dan Newhouse; Devin Nunes; Pete Olson; Steven Palazzo; Gary Palmer; Stevan Pearce; Scott Perry; Collin Peterson; Robert Pittenger; Joseph Pitts; Ted Poe; Bruce Poliquin; Mike Pompeo; Bill Posey; Tom Price; John Ratcliffe; Tom Reed; James Renacci; Reid Ribble; Tom Rice; Scott Rigell; Martha Roby; David Roe; Mike D. Rogers; Dana Rohrabacher; Todd Rokita; Thomas Rooney; Dennis Ross; Keith Rothfus; David Rouzer; Edward Royce; Paul Ryan; Matt Salmon; Mark Sanford; Steve Scalise; David Schweikert; Austin Scott; James Sensenbrenner; Pete Sessions; John Shimkus; Bill Shuster; Michael Simpson; Adrian Smith; Christopher Smith; Jason Smith; Lamar Smith; Elise Stefanik; Chris Stewart; Steve Stivers; Marlin Stutzman; Glenn Thompson; Mac Thornberry; Scott Tipton; David Trott; Michael Turner; Fred Upton; David Valadao; Ann Wagner; Tim Walberg; Greg Walden; Mark Walker; Jackie Walorski; Mimi Walters; Randy Weber; Daniel Webster; Brad Wenstrup; Bruce Westerman; Lynn Westmoreland; Ed Whitfield; Roger Williams; Joe Wilson; Robert Wittman; Steve Womack; Kevin Yoder; Ted Yoho; David Young; Don Young; Todd Young; Lee Zeldin; Ryan Zinke;

Percentage of House Of Representatives sponsoring bill: 50% (217 of 435)

Chamber Date Action
House Mar 16, 2015 Referred to the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, Homeland Security, and Investigations.
House Feb 13, 2015 Referred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.
Type Date Federal Link Text
Introduced Feb 27 2015 federal link bill text
Title Description Date State Link Text Adopted
There are no amendments to this bill at this time

Chamber: H

Committee Name: Judiciary

Votes - Click on description to view vote roll call

There have not been any votes on this bill

Discuss this bill and other firearm related topics in our brand new discussion forum