Help us keep you informed about new legislation that could effect your right to bear arms. Even a small donation helps us keep this running. Please consider signing up for a paying membership or making a donation, every little bit helps.

toggle menu

Proposed Federal Firearm Legislation HB545

  this is an anti-gun bill
Legislation Overview

Title: No Congressional Gun Loophole Act

Subject: Congress: Congressional officers and employees: Firearms and explosives: Government buildings, facilities, and property: Members of Congress: Motor vehicles: U.S. Capitol

Description: Prohibits the Capitol Police Board from allowing Members of Congress or their staff to carry firearms on the grounds of the U.S. Capitol or in its buildings. Members and their staff may store firearms in their cars in Capitol complex garages if their possession complies with the firearms laws of the District of Columbia and the firearms are locked with gun locks while on the complex. Current board regulations allow Members of Congress to keep firearms in their offices; the regulations also allow Members and their staff to transport unloaded and securely wrapped firearms within the Capitol grounds. Firearms are prohibited inside the chambers of the Senate and the House of Representatives, as well as in adjacent lobbies and cloakrooms, the galleries, the Marble Room of the Senate, and the Rayburn Room of the House, unless approved by the Sergeants at Arms for security purposes.

Session: 117th Congress

Last Action: Referred to the Subcommittee on Economic Development, Public Buildings, and Emergency Management.

Last Action Date: February 4, 2021



Note: the first sponsor listed is normally the primary sponsor. If a sponsor's name is a hyperlink you can click on it to 'follow the money'.

41 sponsors: Jared Huffman (D); Mike Levin (D); Cindy Axne (D); Raul Grijalva (D); Mike Quigley (D); Eleanor Norton (D); Veronica Escobar (D); Alcee Hastings (D); Kathleen Rice (D); Nanette Barragan (D); Bonnie Coleman (D); Mary Gay Scanlon (D); Sean Casten (D); Kathy Castor (D); Joyce Beatty (D); Ritchie Torres (D); Judy Chu (D); Jerry McNerney (D); Juan Vargas (D); Ed Case (D); Jake Auchincloss (D); Adriano Espaillat (D); Andre Carson (D); Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D); Barbara Lee (D); Grace Meng (D); Don Beyer (D); Mondaire Jones (D); Frederica Wilson (D); Suzanne Bonamici (D); Mark DeSaulnier (D); Dwight Evans (D); Haley Stevens (D); Chrissy Houlahan (D); Robin Kelly (D); David Price (D); Ilhan Omar (D); John Yarmuth (D); Ann Kuster (D); Earl Blumenauer (D); Jackie Speier (D);

Percentage of House Of Representatives sponsoring bill: 9% (41 of 435)

Chamber Date Action
House Feb 4, 2021 Referred to the Subcommittee on Economic Development, Public Buildings, and Emergency Management.
House Jan 28, 2021 Introduced in House
House Jan 28, 2021 Referred to the House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure.
Type Date Federal Link Text
Introduced Feb 19 2021 federal link bill text
Title Description Date State Link Text Adopted
There are no amendments to this bill at this time

Chamber: H

Committee Name: Subcommittee on Economic Development, Public Buildings, and Emergency Management

Votes - Click on description to view vote roll call

There have not been any votes on this bill

Discuss this bill and other firearm related topics in our brand new discussion forum