Update January 15, 2021: Due to the current crack down on conservative websites by 'big tech' we have removed all Google Adsense ads from this site. If you would like to help us offset this loss of income please click here to donate.

toggle menu

Proposed Federal Firearm Legislation HB2916

  this is an anti-gun bill
Legislation Overview

Title: Fire Sale Loophole Closing Act

Subject: Firearms and explosives: Licensing and registrations: Retail and wholesale trades: Crime and law enforcement: Foreign trade and international finance

Description: Fire Sale Loophole Closing Act This bill amends the federal criminal code to make it unlawful for: (1) anyone whose federal license to import, manufacture, or deal in firearms has been revoked, or whose license renewal application has been denied, to transfer business inventory firearms into a personal collection or to an employee of such person or to receive a firearm that was a business inventory firearm as of the date of a revocation or renewal denial notice; and (2) anyone who has received a license revocation or renewal denial notice to transfer to any other person a firearm that was a business inventory firearm. The bill imposes a fine and/or prison term of not more than one year for violations of this Act (five years for willful violations).

Session: 114th Congress

Last Action: Referred to the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, Homeland Security, and Investigations.

Last Action Date: July 9, 2015

Link: https://www.congress.gov/bill/114th-congress/house-bill/2916/all-info


Note: the first sponsor listed is normally the primary sponsor. If a sponsor's name is a hyperlink you can click on it to 'follow the money'.

50 sponsors: David Cicilline (D); Michael Doyle (D); James Himes (D); Gwen Moore (D); Gregory Meeks (D); Chris Van Hollen (D); William Keating (D); Keith Ellison (D); Niki Tsongas (D); Matthew Cartwright (D); Daniel Lipinski (D); Katherine Clark (D); Sam Farr (D); Janice Schakowsky (D); Steve Israel (D); Grace Napolitano (D); Rosa DeLauro (D); Diana DeGette (D); James Langevin (D); Louise Slaughter (D); Mark Pocan (D); Kathy Castor (D); Chellie Pingree (D); Zoe Lofgren (D); Marcia Fudge (D); Frederica Wilson (D); Lois Capps (D); Raul Grijalva (D); Jerrold Nadler (D); Bill Pascrell (D); Eric Swalwell (D); Grace Meng (D); Elizabeth Esty (D); Betty McCollum (D); Earl Blumenauer (D); Suzanne Bonamici (D); Judy Chu (D); Janice Hahn (D); Eliot Engel (D); James McGovern (D); Julia Brownley (D); Doris Matsui (D); John Sarbanes (D); Charles Rangel (D); Eleanor Norton (D); Tammy Duckworth (D); Carolyn Maloney (D); Brendan Boyle (D); Mark Takai (D); Juan Vargas (D);

Percentage of House Of Representatives sponsoring bill: 11% (50 of 435)

Chamber Date Action
House Jul 9, 2015 Referred to the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, Homeland Security, and Investigations.
House Jun 25, 2015 Introduced in House
House Jun 25, 2015 Referred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.
Type Date Federal Link Text
Introduced Jul 1 2015 federal link bill text
Title Description Date State Link Text Adopted
There are no amendments to this bill at this time
Votes - Click on description to view vote roll call

There have not been any votes on this bill

Discuss this bill and other firearm related topics in our brand new discussion forum

Comments On This Bill

We want you to speak your mind but please keep your comments 'family friendly'.