Help us keep you informed about new legislation that could effect your right to bear arms. Even a small donation helps us keep this running. Please consider signing up for a paying membership or making a donation, every little bit helps.

toggle menu

Proposed Federal Firearm Legislation HB2598

  this is an anti-gun bill
Legislation Overview

Title: Gun Violence Restraining Order Act of 2017

Subject: Crime prevention: Criminal justice information and records: Domestic violence and child abuse: Firearms and explosives: Law enforcement administration and funding: State and local government operations: Violent crime: Crime and law enforcement

Description: Gun Violence Restraining Order Act of 2017 This bill amends the federal criminal code to prohibit the sale, transfer to, receipt of, or possession of a firearm by a person who is subject to a gun violence prevention order. A gun violence prevention order is a court order that prohibits an individual from owning, purchasing, possessing, or receiving a firearm. The bill authorizes the Department of Justice's Office of Community Oriented Policing Services to make grants to states that have in effect legislation that: (1) authorizes a family member, or a law enforcement officer, to apply for a gun violence prevention order against an individual who may pose a significant risk to themselves or others; (2) authorizes a law enforcement officer to temporarily seize firearms from that individual, subject to a warrant; and (3) requires law enforcement agencies to comply with certain requirements.

Session: 115th Congress

Last Action: Referred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.

Last Action Date: May 23, 2017



Note: the first sponsor listed is normally the primary sponsor. If a sponsor's name is a hyperlink you can click on it to 'follow the money'.

145 sponsors: Salud Carbajal (D); Elizabeth Esty (D); Don Beyer (D); Mark DeSaulnier (D); Anthony Brown (D); Robin Kelly (D); Mike Thompson (D); Bonnie Coleman (D); Jamie Raskin (D); Eleanor Norton (D); Raul Grijalva (D); Earl Blumenauer (D); Dwight Evans (D); Susan Davis (D); Thomas Suozzi (D); Ro Khanna (D); David Cicilline (D); Robert Scott (D); Ed Perlmutter (D); Jimmy Gomez (D); Val Demings (D); Jackie Speier (D); Eric Swalwell (D); Ruben Gallego (D); Richard Nolan (D); David Price (D); Jared Huffman (D); Jimmy Panetta (D); Zoe Lofgren (D); Sheila Jackson-Lee (D); Grace Napolitano (D); Nita Lowey (D); Rosa DeLauro (D); Eddie Johnson (D); Kathleen Rice (D); Lisa Rochester (D); Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D); Alcee Hastings (D); Eliot Engel (D); Jerrold Nadler (D); Alan Lowenthal (D); Norma Torres (D); Doris Matsui (D); Nanette Barragan (D); Jim Costa (D); Judy Chu (D); Adam Schiff (D); Juan Vargas (D); Pete Aguilar (D); John Garamendi (D); Julia Brownley (D); Steve Cohen (D); Janice Schakowsky (D); Frederica Wilson (D); Michelle Lujan Grisham (D); Michael Capuano (D); Carolyn Maloney (D); Henry Johnson (D); Adriano Espaillat (D); Robert Brady (D); Brian Higgins (D); Albio Sires (D); Brian Fitzpatrick (R); Bill Foster (D); Elijah Cummings (D); Charlie Crist (D); Scott Peters (D); Betty McCollum (D); Karen Bass (D); Mike Quigley (D); Gerald Connolly (D); Chellie Pingree (D); Peter DeFazio (D); Ami Bera (D); Frank Pallone (D); Joe Courtney (D); Theodore Deutch (D); Mark Takano (D); Bradley Schneider (D); Katherine Clark (D); Pramila Jayapal (D); Tim Ryan (D); James McGovern (D); Niki Tsongas (D); Ruben Kihuen (D); Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R); John Delaney (D); William Keating (D); Darren Soto (D); Seth Moulton (D); Ted Lieu (D); Suzanne Bonamici (D); Tom O'Halleran (D); Brian Mast (R); Don Bacon (R); Leonard Lance (R); Joseph Kennedy (D); Paul Tonko (D); Fred Upton (R); Kathy Castor (D); Peter Roskam (R); Tony Cardenas (D); Gregorio Sablan (I); Lucille Roybal-Allard (D); Donald McEachin (D); Brendan Boyle (D); Nydia Velazquez (D); Daniel Kildee (D); Stephanie Murphy (D); Stephen Lynch (D); Adam Smith (D); Jim Cooper (D); Lynn Jenkins (R); Colleen Hanabusa (D); John Sarbanes (D); Diana DeGette (D); Jared Polis (D); Hakeem Jeffries (D); Joseph Crowley (D); Yvette Clarke (D); Peter Welch (D); Beto O'Rourke (D); James Langevin (D); Daniel Lipinski (D); Donald Norcross (D); Bobby Rush (D); Al Lawson (D); Debbie Dingell (D); Brenda Lawrence (D); Jose Serrano (D); Gregory Meeks (D); G. Butterfield (D); Carol Shea-Porter (D); Dina Titus (D); Emanuel Cleaver (D); Lacy Clay (D); Derek Kilmer (D); Luis Gutierrez (D); Brad Sherman (D); Jerry McNerney (D); Gwen Moore (D); Carlos Curbelo (R); James Himes (D); Luis Correa (D); Joseph Morelle (D);

Percentage of House Of Representatives sponsoring bill: 33% (145 of 435)

Chamber Date Action
House May 23, 2017 Introduced in House
House May 23, 2017 Sponsor introductory remarks on measure. (CR H4429)
House May 23, 2017 Referred to the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, Homeland Security, and Investigations.
House May 23, 2017 Referred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.
Type Date Federal Link Text
Introduced Jun 8 2017 federal link bill text
Title Description Date State Link Text Adopted
There are no amendments to this bill at this time

Chamber: H

Committee Name: Judiciary

Votes - Click on description to view vote roll call

There have not been any votes on this bill

Discuss this bill and other firearm related topics in our brand new discussion forum