Help us keep you informed about new legislation that could effect your right to bear arms. Even a small donation helps us keep this running. Please consider signing up for a paying membership or making a donation, every little bit helps.

toggle menu

Proposed Federal Firearm Legislation HB225

  this is an anti-gun bill
Legislation Overview

Title: Firearm Safety Act of 2015

Subject: Administrative law and regulatory procedures: Consumer Product Safety Commission: Firearms and explosives: Product safety and quality: Commerce

Description: Firearm Safety Act of 2015 Amends the Consumer Product Safety Act to remove from the definition of "consumer product" the exclusion for any article sold by a manufacturer, producer, or importer that would be subject to a firearms sales tax under the Internal Revenue Code for pistols, revolvers, and other firearms, including shells and cartridges, thereby permitting the Consumer Product Safety Commission to issue safety standards for such articles.

Session: 114th Congress

Last Action: Referred to the Subcommittee on Commerce, Manufacturing, and Trade.

Last Action Date: January 9, 2015



Note: the first sponsor listed is normally the primary sponsor. If a sponsor's name is a hyperlink you can click on it to 'follow the money'.

65 sponsors: Robin Kelly (D); John Conyers (D); Eleanor Norton (D); Sheila Jackson-Lee (D); Donna Edwards (D); Michael Honda (D); Mike Quigley (D); Gregory Meeks (D); Charles Rangel (D); Alcee Hastings (D); Sam Farr (D); Louise Slaughter (D); Alan Lowenthal (D); Earl Blumenauer (D); Chris Van Hollen (D); Suzanne Bonamici (D); Janice Hahn (D); Grace Napolitano (D); Barbara Lee (D); Elijah Cummings (D); Cedric Richmond (D); Raul Grijalva (D); Matthew Cartwright (D); Tony Cardenas (D); Andre Carson (D); Jose Serrano (D); Brenda Lawrence (D); Chaka Fattah (D); Katherine Clark (D); William Keating (D); Robert Scott (D); Theodore Deutch (D); James McGovern (D); Stacey Plaskett (D); Bonnie Coleman (D); Mark DeSaulnier (D); Janice Schakowsky (D); Betty McCollum (D); Hakeem Jeffries (D); James Himes (D); Seth Moulton (D); Don Beyer (D); Nita Lowey (D); Gwen Moore (D); Adam Schiff (D); Joseph Kennedy (D); Alma Adams (D); Tammy Duckworth (D); Juan Vargas (D); Stephen Lynch (D); Paul Tonko (D); Carolyn Maloney (D); Tim Ryan (D); Julia Brownley (D); Luis Gutierrez (D); Doris Matsui (D); John Yarmuth (D); Mark Takano (D); Judy Chu (D); Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D); Danny Davis (D); Steve Cohen (D); Ruben Gallego (D); Donald Norcross (D); Grace Meng (D);

Percentage of House Of Representatives sponsoring bill: 15% (65 of 435)

Chamber Date Action
House Jan 9, 2015 Referred to the Subcommittee on Commerce, Manufacturing, and Trade.
House Jan 8, 2015 Introduced in House
House Jan 8, 2015 Referred to the House Committee on Energy and Commerce.
Type Date Federal Link Text
Introduced Jan 15 2015 federal link bill text
Title Description Date State Link Text Adopted
There are no amendments to this bill at this time

Chamber: H

Committee Name: Subcommittee on Commerce, Manufacturing, and Trade

Votes - Click on description to view vote roll call

There have not been any votes on this bill

Discuss this bill and other firearm related topics in our brand new discussion forum