Help us keep you informed about new legislation that could effect your right to bear arms. Even a small donation helps us keep this running. Please consider signing up for a paying membership or making a donation, every little bit helps.

toggle menu

Proposed Federal Firearm Legislation HB1752

  this is an anti-gun bill
Legislation Overview

Title: COOL OFF Act Choosing Our Own Lives Over Fast Firearms Act

Subject: Crime and law enforcement

Description: To provide for a 3-day waiting period before a person may receive a handgun, with exceptions.

Session: 117th Congress

Last Action: Referred to the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, and Homeland Security.

Last Action Date: May 18, 2021



Note: the first sponsor listed is normally the primary sponsor. If a sponsor's name is a hyperlink you can click on it to 'follow the money'.

78 sponsors: Raja Krishnamoorthi (D); Earl Blumenauer (D); Lisa Rochester (D); Anthony Brown (D); Salud Carbajal (D); Andre Carson (D); Ed Case (D); Sean Casten (D); Kathy Castor (D); David Cicilline (D); Yvette Clarke (D); Steve Cohen (D); Danny Davis (D); Madeleine Dean (D); Diana DeGette (D); Rosa DeLauro (D); Val Demings (D); Mark DeSaulnier (D); Theodore Deutch (D); Lloyd Doggett (D); Veronica Escobar (D); Anna Eshoo (D); Adriano Espaillat (D); Dwight Evans (D); Bill Foster (D); John Garamendi (D); Al Green (D); Raul Grijalva (D); Debra Haaland (D); Alcee Hastings (D); Jahana Hayes (D); James Himes (D); Sheila Jackson-Lee (D); Eddie Johnson (D); Henry Johnson (D); William Keating (D); Ro Khanna (D); Al Lawson (D); Barbara Lee (D); Ted Lieu (D); Alan Lowenthal (D); Betty McCollum (D); James McGovern (D); Jerry McNerney (D); Grace Meng (D); Gwen Moore (D); Joseph Morelle (D); Seth Moulton (D); Eleanor Norton (D); Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D); Ilhan Omar (D); Frank Pallone (D); Bill Pascrell (D); Donald Payne (D); Ed Perlmutter (D); David Price (D); Mike Quigley (D); Jamie Raskin (D); Lucille Roybal-Allard (D); C.A. Ruppersberger (D); Bobby Rush (D); Gregorio Sablan (I); Janice Schakowsky (D); Brad Sherman (D); Albio Sires (D); Darren Soto (D); Jackie Speier (D); Thomas Suozzi (D); Mark Takano (D); Bennie Thompson (D); Rashida Tlaib (D); Paul Tonko (D); Juan Vargas (D); Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D); Frederica Wilson (D); Michael Doyle (D); Nikema Williams (D); Jake Auchincloss (D);

Percentage of House Of Representatives sponsoring bill: 18% (78 of 435)

Chamber Date Action
House May 18, 2021 Referred to the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, and Homeland Security.
House Mar 10, 2021 Introduced in House
House Mar 10, 2021 Referred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.
Type Date Federal Link Text
Introduced May 11 2021 federal link bill text
Title Description Date State Link Text Adopted
There are no amendments to this bill at this time

Chamber: H

Committee Name: Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, and Homeland Security

Votes - Click on description to view vote roll call

There have not been any votes on this bill

Discuss this bill and other firearm related topics in our brand new discussion forum