Help us keep you informed about new legislation that could effect your right to bear arms. Even a small donation helps us keep this running. Please consider signing up for a paying membership or making a donation, every little bit helps.

toggle menu

Proposed Federal Firearm Legislation HB1705

  this is an anti-gun bill
Legislation Overview

Title: Jaime’s Law

Subject: Crime and law enforcement: Crime prevention: Criminal justice information and records: Firearms and explosives: Licensing and registrations: Retail and wholesale trades

Description: To prevent the purchase of ammunition by prohibited purchasers.

Session: 116th Congress

Last Action: Referred to the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, and Homeland Security.

Last Action Date: April 12, 2019



Note: the first sponsor listed is normally the primary sponsor. If a sponsor's name is a hyperlink you can click on it to 'follow the money'.

83 sponsors: Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D); David Cicilline (D); Yvette Clarke (D); Steve Cohen (D); Rosa DeLauro (D); Henry Johnson (D); Raja Krishnamoorthi (D); Stephen Lynch (D); Jerry McNerney (D); Gwen Moore (D); Eleanor Norton (D); Frank Pallone (D); Janice Schakowsky (D); Jose Serrano (D); Bonnie Coleman (D); Madeleine Dean (D); Ro Khanna (D); Theodore Deutch (D); Seth Moulton (D); Lucille Roybal-Allard (D); Robin Kelly (D); Elijah Cummings (D); Kathleen Rice (D); Eliot Engel (D); Bobby Rush (D); Sheila Jackson-Lee (D); Lois Frankel (D); Darren Soto (D); Jamie Raskin (D); Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (D); Emanuel Cleaver (D); Adriano Espaillat (D); Nita Lowey (D); Bill Pascrell (D); Debra Haaland (D); Alcee Hastings (D); Donald Norcross (D); Mark Takano (D); Grace Napolitano (D); Brendan Boyle (D); Zoe Lofgren (D); Lucy McBath (D); Charlie Crist (D); Gil Cisneros (D); Jerrold Nadler (D); Anthony Brown (D); Anna Eshoo (D); Ayanna Pressley (D); Eric Swalwell (D); Mike Levin (D); Mike Quigley (D); Katherine Clark (D); Val Demings (D); Juan Vargas (D); Joseph Kennedy (D); Kathy Castor (D); James McGovern (D); Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D); Sean Casten (D); Joseph Neguse (D); Julia Brownley (D); Thomas Suozzi (D); Hakeem Jeffries (D); Adam Schiff (D); Dina Titus (D); Joe Courtney (D); Ann Kirkpatrick (D); Lacy Clay (D); Linda Sanchez (D); Danny Davis (D); Carolyn Maloney (D); Don Beyer (D); Dwight Evans (D); C.A. Ruppersberger (D); James Himes (D); Rick Larsen (D); Brenda Lawrence (D); Donna Shalala (D); Jahana Hayes (D); Richard Neal (D); Ted Lieu (D); Salud Carbajal (D); Mark DeSaulnier (D);

Percentage of House Of Representatives sponsoring bill: 19% (83 of 435)

Chamber Date Action
House Apr 12, 2019 Referred to the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, and Homeland Security.
House Mar 13, 2019 Introduced in House
House Mar 13, 2019 Referred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.
Type Date Federal Link Text
Introduced Mar 28 2019 federal link bill text
Title Description Date State Link Text Adopted
There are no amendments to this bill at this time

Chamber: H

Committee Name: Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, and Homeland Security

Votes - Click on description to view vote roll call

There have not been any votes on this bill

Discuss this bill and other firearm related topics in our brand new discussion forum