Help us keep you informed about new legislation that could effect your right to bear arms. Even a small donation helps us keep this running. Please consider signing up for a paying membership or making a donation, every little bit helps.

toggle menu

Proposed Federal Firearm Legislation HB1287

  this is an anti-gun bill
Legislation Overview

Title: No Guns for Abusers Act of 2019

Subject: Crime and law enforcement: Administrative law and regulatory procedures: Assault and harassment offenses: Congressional oversight: Crime victims: Domestic violence and child abuse: Firearms and explosives: Government studies and investigations: Law enforcement administration and funding: State and local government operations: Violent crime

Description: Authorizes the Department of Justice (DOJ) to make grants for state and local governments to implement procedures to remove firearms from individuals who are charged with or convicted of domestic violence or subject to a domestic violence protective order. Additionally, the bill sets forth the following requirements: the National Institute of Justice (NIJ) must report to Congress on best practices for implementing such procedures, the NIJ must contract with nongovernmental entities to study the comparative effectiveness of such procedures, and DOJ must submit federal legislative recommendations in accordance with the best practices.

Session: 116th Congress

Last Action: Referred to the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, and Homeland Security.

Last Action Date: March 25, 2019



Note: the first sponsor listed is normally the primary sponsor. If a sponsor's name is a hyperlink you can click on it to 'follow the money'.

35 sponsors: Eric Swalwell (D); Steve Cohen (D); Madeleine Dean (D); Jamie Raskin (D); Gil Cisneros (D); Katherine Clark (D); Yvette Clarke (D); Charlie Crist (D); Adriano Espaillat (D); Debra Haaland (D); Alcee Hastings (D); Joseph Kennedy (D); Ro Khanna (D); Jerry McNerney (D); Grace Meng (D); Grace Napolitano (D); Eleanor Norton (D); Lucille Roybal-Allard (D); Tim Ryan (D); Janice Schakowsky (D); Darren Soto (D); Nydia Velazquez (D); Frederica Wilson (D); Sean Casten (D); Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D); Anthony Brown (D); David Cicilline (D); Zoe Lofgren (D); Lucy McBath (D); Robin Kelly (D); Kathy Castor (D); Harley Rouda (D); Chellie Pingree (D); James Himes (D); Mark DeSaulnier (D);

Percentage of House Of Representatives sponsoring bill: 8% (35 of 435)

Chamber Date Action
House Mar 25, 2019 Referred to the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, and Homeland Security.
House Feb 14, 2019 Introduced in House
House Feb 14, 2019 Referred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.
Type Date Federal Link Text
Introduced Mar 2 2019 federal link bill text
Title Description Date State Link Text Adopted
There are no amendments to this bill at this time

Chamber: H

Committee Name: Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, and Homeland Security

Votes - Click on description to view vote roll call

There have not been any votes on this bill

Discuss this bill and other firearm related topics in our brand new discussion forum