Update January 15, 2021: Due to the current crack down on conservative websites by 'big tech' we have removed all Google Adsense ads from this site. If you would like to help us offset this loss of income please click here to donate.

toggle menu

Proposed Federal Firearm Legislation HB1186

  this is an anti-gun bill
Legislation Overview

Title: Keep Americans Safe Act

Subject: Crime and law enforcement: Civil actions and liability: Firearms and explosives: Law enforcement administration and funding: Retail and wholesale trades: Trade restrictions

Description: Establishes a new criminal offense for the import, sale, manufacture, transfer, or possession of a large capacity ammunition feeding device (LCAFD). The bill does not prohibit certain conduct with respect to an LCAFD, including the following: importation, sale, manufacture, transfer, or possession related to certain law enforcement efforts, or authorized tests or experiments; importation, sale, transfer, or possession related to securing nuclear materials; and possession by a retired law enforcement officer. The bill permits continued possession of, but prohibits sale or transfer of, a grandfathered LCAFD. Newly manufactured LCAFDs must display serial number identification and the date of manufacture. Additionally, the bill allows a state or local government to use Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant Program funds to compensate individuals who surrender an LCAFD under a buy-back program.

Session: 116th Congress

Last Action: Ordered to be Reported (Amended) by the Yeas and Nays: 23 - 16.

Last Action Date: September 10, 2019

Link: https://www.congress.gov/bill/116th-congress/house-bill/1186/all-info


Note: the first sponsor listed is normally the primary sponsor. If a sponsor's name is a hyperlink you can click on it to 'follow the money'.

163 sponsors: Theodore Deutch (D); Jerrold Nadler (D); Diana DeGette (D); Dina Titus (D); Pete Aguilar (D); Ami Bera (D); Suzanne Bonamici (D); Julia Brownley (D); Tony Cardenas (D); Ed Case (D); Katherine Clark (D); Yvette Clarke (D); Steve Cohen (D); Gerald Connolly (D); Jim Cooper (D); Charlie Crist (D); Elijah Cummings (D); Susan Davis (D); Mark DeSaulnier (D); Anna Eshoo (D); Adriano Espaillat (D); Lois Frankel (D); Raul Grijalva (D); Alcee Hastings (D); Eddie Johnson (D); Henry Johnson (D); Robin Kelly (D); James Langevin (D); Zoe Lofgren (D); Stephen Lynch (D); Carolyn Maloney (D); Sean Maloney (D); Doris Matsui (D); Betty McCollum (D); Donald McEachin (D); James McGovern (D); Joseph Morelle (D); Grace Napolitano (D); Eleanor Norton (D); Frank Pallone (D); Jimmy Panetta (D); Scott Peters (D); Chellie Pingree (D); Kathleen Rice (D); Max Rose (D); Lucille Roybal-Allard (D); John Sarbanes (D); Janice Schakowsky (D); Adam Schiff (D); Bradley Schneider (D); Robert Scott (D); Brad Sherman (D); Albio Sires (D); Adam Smith (D); Darren Soto (D); Jackie Speier (D); Thomas Suozzi (D); Eric Swalwell (D); Mark Takano (D); Nydia Velazquez (D); Peter Visclosky (D); Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D); Bonnie Coleman (D); Frederica Wilson (D); John Yarmuth (D); Gil Cisneros (D); Joseph Neguse (D); John Garamendi (D); Tom Malinowski (D); Jamie Raskin (D); Donald Payne (D); Don Beyer (D); Jerry McNerney (D); Donna Shalala (D); Jared Huffman (D); Debra Haaland (D); Anthony Brown (D); James Himes (D); Bill Pascrell (D); Sean Casten (D); Michael Doyle (D); Mike Quigley (D); Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (D); Gregory Meeks (D); Nita Lowey (D); Donald Norcross (D); Jesus Garcia (D); C.A. Ruppersberger (D); Mark Pocan (D); Kathy Castor (D); Denny Heck (D); Karen Bass (D); Danny Davis (D); Eliot Engel (D); Veronica Escobar (D); Sylvia Garcia (D); Josh Gottheimer (D); Chrissy Houlahan (D); Pramila Jayapal (D); Ro Khanna (D); Raja Krishnamoorthi (D); Ann Kuster (D); Al Lawson (D); Elaine Luria (D); Seth Moulton (D); Ayanna Pressley (D); Bobby Rush (D); Lori Trahan (D); Maxine Waters (D); Brian Higgins (D); Paul Tonko (D); Madeleine Dean (D); Val Demings (D); Ruben Gallego (D); Katie Hill (D); Joseph Kennedy (D); Rick Larsen (D); Andy Levin (D); Mary Gay Scanlon (D); Jose Serrano (D); David Trone (D); Jennifer Wexton (D); Judy Chu (D); Tim Ryan (D); Brendan Boyle (D); Grace Meng (D); Cedric Richmond (D); David Scott (D); Abigail Spanberger (D); Rashida Tlaib (D); Ted Lieu (D); Joe Courtney (D); David Cicilline (D); TJ Cox (D); Jason Crow (D); John Larson (D); Ed Perlmutter (D); Lisa Rochester (D); Emanuel Cleaver (D); Lucy McBath (D); Stephanie Murphy (D); Rebecca Sherrill (D); Dwight Evans (D); Salud Carbajal (D); Filemon Vela (D); Luis Correa (D); Brenda Lawrence (D); Alan Lowenthal (D); Angela Craig (D); Linda Sanchez (D); Peter Welch (D); Rosa DeLauro (D); Lloyd Doggett (D); Alma Adams (D); Suzanne Lee (D); Al Green (D); Barbara Lee (D); Sheila Jackson-Lee (D); Mike Levin (D); Raul Ruiz (D); Christopher Pappas (D); Derek Kilmer (D); Nanette Barragan (D);

Percentage of House Of Representatives sponsoring bill: 37% (163 of 435)

Chamber Date Action
House Sep 10, 2019 Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, and Homeland Security Discharged.
House Sep 10, 2019 Committee Consideration and Mark-up Session Held.
House Sep 10, 2019 Ordered to be Reported (Amended) by the Yeas and Nays: 23 - 16.
House Mar 25, 2019 Referred to the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, and Homeland Security.
House Feb 13, 2019 Introduced in House
House Feb 13, 2019 Referred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.
Type Date Federal Link Text
Introduced Feb 26 2019 federal link bill text
Title Description Date State Link Text Adopted
There are no amendments to this bill at this time


Committee Name:

Votes - Click on description to view vote roll call

There have not been any votes on this bill

Discuss this bill and other firearm related topics in our brand new discussion forum

Comments On This Bill

We want you to speak your mind but please keep your comments 'family friendly'.