Update January 15, 2021: Due to the current crack down on conservative websites by 'big tech' we have removed all Google Adsense ads from this site. If you would like to help us offset this loss of income please click here to donate.

toggle menu

Proposed Federal Firearm Legislation HB1076

  this is an anti-gun bill
Legislation Overview

Title: Denying Firearms and Explosives to Dangerous Terrorists Act of 2015

Subject: Administrative remedies: Civil actions and liability: Firearms and explosives: Judicial review and appeals: Licensing and registrations: Terrorism: Crime and law enforcement

Description: Denying Firearms and Explosives to Dangerous Terrorists Act of 2015 Amends the federal criminal code to grant the Attorney General the authority to deny the transfer of firearms or the issuance of a federal firearms and explosives license to any individual if the Attorney General: (1) determines that such individual has been engaged in or has provided material support or resources for terrorist activities, and (2) has a reasonable belief that such individual may use a firearm or explosive in connection with terrorism. Allows any individual whose firearm or explosives license application has been denied to bring legal action challenging the denial. Prohibits the sale or distribution of firearms or explosives to any individual whom the Attorney General has determined to be engaged in terrorist activities. Permits the Attorney General to withhold information in firearms and explosives license denial revocation suits if the Attorney General determines that the disclosure of such information would likely compromise national security. Authorizes the Attorney General to revoke firearms and explosives licenses and permits held by individuals determined to be engaged in terrorism.

Session: 114th Congress

Last Action: Motion to Discharge Committee filed by Mr. Thompson (CA). Petition No: 114-3. ( ">Discharge petition text with signatures.)

Last Action Date: December 7, 2015

Link: https://www.congress.gov/bill/114th-congress/house-bill/1076/all-info


Note: the first sponsor listed is normally the primary sponsor. If a sponsor's name is a hyperlink you can click on it to 'follow the money'.

134 sponsors: Peter King (R); Charles Rangel (D); Michael Capuano (D); James Himes (D); Eleanor Norton (D); Matthew Cartwright (D); Steve Israel (D); Chris Van Hollen (D); Alcee Hastings (D); David Cicilline (D); Pedro Pierluisi (N); Paul Tonko (D); James McGovern (D); Chellie Pingree (D); Sam Farr (D); Nita Lowey (D); Carolyn Maloney (D); Zoe Lofgren (D); Kathleen Rice (D); Janice Schakowsky (D); Donna Edwards (D); Kathy Castor (D); Brendan Boyle (D); Michael Doyle (D); Robert Dold (R); John Larson (D); Betty McCollum (D); Mark DeSaulnier (D); Steve Cohen (D); Michelle Lujan Grisham (D); Jerrold Nadler (D); Adam Schiff (D); Donald Payne (D); David Price (D); Bill Pascrell (D); Joe Courtney (D); Elizabeth Esty (D); Donald Norcross (D); Suzanne Bonamici (D); Joseph Kennedy (D); Ed Perlmutter (D); Mike Thompson (D); Ami Bera (D); Patrick Murphy (D); Michael Honda (D); Doris Matsui (D); Daniel Donovan; Rosa DeLauro (D); James Langevin (D); Tammy Duckworth (D); Gregory Meeks (D); Suzan DelBene (D); Scott Peters (D); Grace Meng (D); Julia Brownley (D); Krysten Sinema (D); Lois Capps (D); Katherine Clark (D); Sean Maloney (D); Marcy Kaptur (D); Jared Polis (D); Albio Sires (D); Peter Welch (D); Robert Brady (D); Anna Eshoo (D); John Yarmuth (D); Eric Swalwell (D); Pete Aguilar (D); Lois Frankel (D); Niki Tsongas (D); Norma Torres (D); Janice Hahn (D); Stephen Lynch (D); Alma Adams (D); Peter Visclosky (D); Juan Vargas (D); Barbara Lee (D); David Loebsack (D); Brad Sherman (D); Hakeem Jeffries (D); Tony Cardenas (D); Sheila Jackson-Lee (D); Brad Ashford (D); Seth Moulton (D); John Delaney (D); Ted Lieu (D); Ann Kuster (D); Earl Blumenauer (D); Ruben Hinojosa (D); Bill Foster (D); Ann Kirkpatrick (D); William Keating (D); Robin Kelly (D); John Carney (D); Mike Quigley (D); Alan Lowenthal (D); Mark Takano (D); Gwen Moore (D); Luis Gutierrez (D); Gene Green (D); Andre Carson (D); Don Beyer (D); Mark Pocan (D); Louise Slaughter (D); Daniel Kildee (D); Adam Smith (D); John Garamendi (D); Jared Huffman (D); Derek Kilmer (D); Al Green (D); Gwen Graham (D); Corrine Brown (D); Jim Cooper (D); Denny Heck (D); Sander Levin (D); Mark Takai (D); Beto O'Rourke (D); Cheri Bustos (D); Frank Pallone (D); Gregorio Sablan (I); Brian Higgins (D); Raul Ruiz (D); Joaquin Castro (D); Elijah Cummings (D); Linda Sanchez (D); Marcia Fudge (D); Alan Grayson (D); Jose Serrano (D); Lucille Roybal-Allard (D); Ruben Gallego (D); John Conyers (D); Filemon Vela (D); Joyce Beatty (D); Judy Chu (D);

Percentage of House Of Representatives sponsoring bill: 31% (134 of 435)

Chamber Date Action
House Dec 7, 2015 Motion to Discharge Committee filed by Mr. Thompson (CA). Petition No: 114-3. ( ">Discharge petition text with signatures.)
House Mar 31, 2015 Referred to the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, Homeland Security, and Investigations.
House Feb 25, 2015 Introduced in House
House Feb 25, 2015 Referred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.
Type Date Federal Link Text
Introduced Mar 9 2015 federal link bill text
Title Description Date State Link Text Adopted
There are no amendments to this bill at this time


Committee Name:

Votes - Click on description to view vote roll call

There have not been any votes on this bill

Discuss this bill and other firearm related topics in our brand new discussion forum

Comments On This Bill

We want you to speak your mind but please keep your comments 'family friendly'.