Help us keep you informed about new legislation that could effect your right to bear arms. Even a small donation helps us keep this running. Please consider signing up for a paying membership or making a donation, every little bit helps.

toggle menu

Passed Delaware Firearm Legislation SB147

  this is an anti-gun bill
Legislation Overview

Title: An Act To Amend Title 11 Of The Delaware Code Relating To Use Of Force.

Description: This Act codifies a reasonableness requirement for the use of force, both non-lethal and lethal. This is important when the state of mind is an issue in a criminal trial, such as when the judge or jury must decide as to what someone believed, knew, or intended at a given time.

Session: 151st General Assembly

Last Action: Signed by Governor

Last Action Date: June 30, 2021


Note: the first sponsor listed is normally the primary sponsor. If a sponsor's name is a hyperlink you can click on it to 'follow the money'.

17 sponsors: Marie Pinkney (D); Elizabeth Lockman (D); Sherry Dorsey Walker (D); Kyle Gay (D); Stephanie Hansen (D); Sarah McBride (D); Charles Paradee (D); David Sokola (D); Laura Sturgeon (D); Bryan Townsend (D); Paul Baumbach (D); David Bentz (D); John Kowalko (D); Larry Lambert (D); Sherae'a Moore (D); Eric Morrison (D); Madinah Wilson-Anton (D);

Percentage of House Of Representatives sponsoring bill: 41% (17 of 41)

Chamber Date Action
Jun 30, 2021 Signed by Governor
Jun 29, 2021 Passed By House. Votes: 25 YES 16 NO
Jun 29, 2021 Amendment HA 2 to SB 147 - Defeated By House. Votes: 3 YES 38 NO
Jun 29, 2021 Amendment HA 4 to SB 147 - Introduced and Placed With Bill
Jun 28, 2021 Amendment HA 3 to SB 147 - Introduced and Placed With Bill
Jun 25, 2021 Amendment HA 2 to SB 147 - Introduced and Placed With Bill
Jun 22, 2021 Amendment HA 1 to SB 147 - Introduced and Placed With Bill
Jun 17, 2021 Reported Out of Committee (Public Safety & Homeland Security) in House with 1 Favorable, 4 On Its Merits, 1 Unfavorable
Jun 11, 2021 Assigned to Public Safety & Homeland Security Committee in House
Jun 10, 2021 Passed By Senate. Votes: 14 YES 7 NO
Jun 8, 2021 Reported Out of Committee (Judiciary) in Senate with 3 Favorable
May 25, 2021 Introduced and Assigned to Judiciary Committee in Senate
Type Date State Link Text
Draft not available state link bill text
Title Description Date State Link Text Adopted
There are no amendments to this bill at this time
Votes - Click on description to view vote roll call
Description Vote Date Yea Votes Nay Votes No Votes Absent Passed
06/10/2021 14 7 0 0 Yes
  • Bonini, Colin (R) Nay
  • Brown, Darius (D) Yea
  • Ennis, Bruce (D) Yea
  • Gay, Kyle (D) Yea
  • Hansen, Stephanie (D) Yea
  • Hocker, Gerald (R) Nay
  • Lawson, David (R) Nay
  • Lockman, Elizabeth (D) Yea
  • Lopez, Ernesto (R) Nay
  • Mantzavinos, Spiros (D) Yea
  • McBride, Sarah (D) Yea
  • Paradee, W. Charles (D) Yea
  • Pettyjohn, Brian (R) Nay
  • Pinkney, Marie (D) Yea
  • Poore, Nicole (D) Yea
  • Richardson, Bryant (R) Nay
  • Sokola, David (D) Yea
  • Sturgeon, Laura (D) Yea
  • Townsend, Bryan (D) Yea
  • Walsh, John (D) Yea
  • Wilson, David (R) Nay
resort votes by: party yeas nays name
06/29/2021 25 16 0 0 Yes
  • Baumbach, Paul (D) Yea
  • Bennett, Andria (D) Nay
  • Bentz, David (D) Yea
  • Bolden, Stephanie (D) Yea
  • Brady, Gerald (D) Yea
  • Briggs King, Ruth (R) Nay
  • Bush, William (D) Nay
  • Carson, William (D) Yea
  • Chukwuocha, Nnamdi (D) Yea
  • Collins, Richard (R) Nay
  • Cooke, Franklin (D) Yea
  • Dorsey Walker, Sherry (D) Yea
  • Dukes, Timothy (R) Nay
  • Gray, Ronald (R) Nay
  • Griffith, Krista (D) Yea
  • Heffernan, Debra (D) Yea
  • Hensley, Kevin (R) Nay
  • Johnson, Kendra (D) Yea
  • Kowalko, John (D) Yea
  • Lambert, Larry (D) Yea
  • Longhurst, Valerie (D) Yea
  • Lynn, Sean (D) Nay
  • Matthews, Sean (D) Yea
  • Minor-Brown, Melissa (D) Yea
  • Mitchell, John (D) Yea
  • Moore, Sherae'a (D) Yea
  • Morris, Shannon (R) Nay
  • Morrison, Eric (D) Yea
  • Osienski, Edward (D) Yea
  • Postles, Charles (R) Nay
  • Ramone, Michael (R) Nay
  • Schwartzkopf, Peter (D) Yea
  • Short, Daniel (R) Yea
  • Shupe, Bryan (R) Nay
  • Smith, Michael (R) Nay
  • Smyk, Stephen (R) Yea
  • Spiegelman, Jeffrey (R) Nay
  • Vanderwende, Jesse (R) Nay
  • Williams, Kimberly (D) Yea
  • Wilson-Anton, Madinah (D) Yea
  • Yearick, Lyndon (R) Nay
resort votes by: party yeas nays name

Link: link to state bill page

Discuss this bill and other firearm related topics in our discussion forum