Help us keep you informed about new legislation that could effect your right to bear arms. Even a small donation helps us keep this running. Please consider signing up for a paying membership or making a donation, every little bit helps.

toggle menu

Passed Delaware Firearm Legislation HB450

  this is an anti-gun bill
Legislation Overview

Title: An Act To Amend The Delaware Code Relating To Deadly Weapons.

Description: The Delaware Lethal Firearms Safety Act of 2022 prohibits the manufacture, sale, offer to sell, transfer, purchase, receipt, possession, or transport of assault weapons in Delaware, subject to certain exceptions. One exception is that the Act does not prohibit the possession and transport of firearms that were lawfully possessed or purchased before the effective date of this Act; although for these firearms there are certain restrictions relating to their possession and transport after the effective date of this Act. There are also exceptions for law-enforcement and military personnel in the course of their official duties, and a limited exception for retired law-enforcement personnel. Finally, a person lawfully in possession of an assault weapon prior to the passage of this Act may lawfully transfer the weapon to a member of their family, through inheritance or otherwise.

Session: 151st General Assembly

Last Action: Signed by Governor

Last Action Date: June 30, 2022


Note: the first sponsor listed is normally the primary sponsor. If a sponsor's name is a hyperlink you can click on it to 'follow the money'.

27 sponsors: Valerie Longhurst (D); Nicole Poore (D); Peter Schwartzkopf (D); John Mitchell (D); Sherry Dorsey Walker (D); Paul Baumbach (D); Stephanie Bolden (D); Krista Griffith (D); Sean Lynn (D); Kyle Gay (D); Elizabeth Lockman (D); Sarah McBride (D); Charles Paradee (D); Marie Pinkney (D); David Sokola (D); Laura Sturgeon (D); Bryan Townsend (D); David Bentz (D); Nnamdi Chukwuocha (D); Charles Freel (D); Debra Heffernan (D); Kendra Johnson (D); John Kowalko (D); Larry Lambert (D); Melissa Minor-Brown (D); Eric Morrison (D); Edward Osienski (D);

Percentage of House Of Representatives sponsoring bill: 66% (27 of 41)

Chamber Date Action
Jun 30, 2022 Signed by Governor
Jun 16, 2022 Reported Out of Committee (Finance) in Senate with 1 Favorable, 2 On Its Merits, 1 Unfavorable
Jun 16, 2022 Passed By Senate. Votes: 13 YES 8 NO
Jun 15, 2022 Assigned to Finance Committee in Senate
Jun 15, 2022 Reported Out of Committee (Executive) in Senate with 1 Favorable, 3 On Its Merits
Jun 9, 2022 Assigned to Executive Committee in Senate
Jun 9, 2022 Amendment HA 2 to HB 450 - Defeated By House. Votes: 19 YES 22 NO
Jun 9, 2022 Amendment HA 1 to HB 450 - Introduced and Placed With Bill
Jun 9, 2022 Amendment HA 2 to HB 450 - Introduced and Placed With Bill
Jun 9, 2022 Amendment HA 1 to HB 450 - Passed In House by Voice Vote
Jun 9, 2022 Passed By House. Votes: 22 YES 19 NO
Jun 8, 2022 Reported Out of Committee (Appropriations) in House with 1 Favorable, 2 On Its Merits, 2 Unfavorable
Jun 8, 2022 Assigned to Appropriations Committee in House
Jun 8, 2022 Reported Out of Committee (Administration) in House with 1 Favorable, 2 On Its Merits
Jun 2, 2022 Introduced and Assigned to Administration Committee in House
Type Date State Link Text
Engrossed not available state link bill text
Draft not available state link bill text
Title Description Date State Link Text Adopted
There are no amendments to this bill at this time
Votes - Click on description to view vote roll call
Description Vote Date Yea Votes Nay Votes No Votes Absent Passed
06/9/2022 22 19 0 0 Yes
  • Baumbach, Paul (D) Yea
  • Bennett, Andria (D) Nay
  • Bentz, David (D) Yea
  • Bolden, Stephanie (D) Yea
  • Briggs King, Ruth (R) Nay
  • Bush, William (D) Nay
  • Carson, William (D) Nay
  • Chukwuocha, Nnamdi (D) Yea
  • Collins, Richard (R) Nay
  • Cooke, Franklin (D) Yea
  • Dorsey Walker, Sherry (D) Yea
  • Dukes, Timothy (R) Nay
  • Freel, Charles (D) Yea
  • Gray, Ronald (R) Nay
  • Griffith, Krista (D) Yea
  • Heffernan, Debra (D) Yea
  • Hensley, Kevin (R) Nay
  • Johnson, Kendra (D) Yea
  • Kowalko, John (D) Yea
  • Lambert, Larry (D) Yea
  • Longhurst, Valerie (D) Yea
  • Lynn, Sean (D) Yea
  • Matthews, Sean (D) Nay
  • Minor-Brown, Melissa (D) Yea
  • Mitchell, John (D) Yea
  • Moore, Sherae'a (D) Yea
  • Morris, Shannon (R) Nay
  • Morrison, Eric (D) Yea
  • Osienski, Edward (D) Yea
  • Postles, Charles (R) Nay
  • Ramone, Michael (R) Nay
  • Schwartzkopf, Peter (D) Yea
  • Short, Daniel (R) Nay
  • Shupe, Bryan (R) Nay
  • Smith, Michael (R) Nay
  • Smyk, Stephen (R) Nay
  • Spiegelman, Jeffrey (R) Nay
  • Vanderwende, Jesse (R) Nay
  • Williams, Kimberly (D) Yea
  • Wilson-Anton, Madinah (D) Yea
  • Yearick, Lyndon (R) Nay
resort votes by: party yeas nays name
06/16/2022 13 8 0 0 Yes
  • Bonini, Colin (R) Nay
  • Brown, Darius (D) Yea
  • Ennis, Bruce (D) Nay
  • Gay, Kyle (D) Yea
  • Hansen, Stephanie (D) Yea
  • Hocker, Gerald (R) Nay
  • Lawson, David (R) Nay
  • Lockman, Elizabeth (D) Yea
  • Lopez, Ernesto (R) Nay
  • Mantzavinos, Spiros (D) Yea
  • McBride, Sarah (D) Yea
  • Paradee, W. Charles (D) Yea
  • Pettyjohn, Brian (R) Nay
  • Pinkney, Marie (D) Yea
  • Poore, Nicole (D) Yea
  • Richardson, Bryant (R) Nay
  • Sokola, David (D) Yea
  • Sturgeon, Laura (D) Yea
  • Townsend, Bryan (D) Yea
  • Walsh, John (D) Yea
  • Wilson, David (R) Nay
resort votes by: party yeas nays name

Link: link to state bill page

Discuss this bill and other firearm related topics in our discussion forum