Update January 2022. Due to a large influx of spam in the comments sections of the new legislation pages we have had to disable the Disgus application. We're sorry but we have better things to do that chase around idiot spammers

toggle menu

Passed Delaware Firearm Legislation HB125

  this is an anti-gun bill
Legislation Overview

Title: An Act To Amend Title 11 Of The Delaware Code Relating To Firearms.

Description: Section 1 of this bill establishes the crimes of possession of an unfinished firearm frame or receiver with no serial number, possession of and manufacturing a covert or undetectable firearm, possession of and manufacturing an untraceable firearm, and manufacturing or distributing a firearm using a three-dimensional printer. This bill also makes it a crime to possess a firearm frame or receiver with a removed, obliterated, or altered serial number. This bill makes very limited exceptions to the requirement that certain guns have serial numbers which are: (1) Firearms manufactured before 1968; (2) Muzzle loaders that only use black powder, and antique replicas. Finally, this bill makes clear that ยง 1463 of Title 11 concerning untraceable firearms does not apply to members of the military forces or members of a police force in this State duly authorized to carry an untraceable firearm, and does not apply to the manufacture or importation for sale to a law-enforcement or military entity in this State.

Session: 151st General Assembly

Last Action: Signed by Governor

Last Action Date: October 20, 2021


Note: the first sponsor listed is normally the primary sponsor. If a sponsor's name is a hyperlink you can click on it to 'follow the money'.

25 sponsors: Valerie Longhurst (D); Nicole Poore (D); Sarah McBride (D); David Sokola (D); Bryan Townsend (D); Sherry Dorsey Walker (D); Debra Heffernan (D); Sean Lynn (D); Melissa Minor-Brown (D); John Mitchell (D); Peter Schwartzkopf (D); Kyle Gay (D); Stephanie Hansen (D); Elizabeth Lockman (D); Charles Paradee (D); Paul Baumbach (D); David Bentz (D); Nnamdi Chukwuocha (D); Franklin Cooke (D); Krista Griffith (D); Kendra Johnson (D); John Kowalko (D); Larry Lambert (D); Sean Matthews (D); Eric Morrison (D);

Percentage of House Of Representatives sponsoring bill: 61% (25 of 41)

Chamber Date Action
Oct 20, 2021 Signed by Governor
Jun 15, 2021 Passed By Senate. Votes: 13 YES 8 NO
Jun 15, 2021 Amendment SA 1 to HB 125 - Introduced and Placed With Bill
Jun 15, 2021 Amendment SA 1 to HB 125 - Defeated By Senate. Votes: 8 YES 13 NO
Jun 10, 2021 Reported Out of Committee (Judiciary) in Senate with 3 On Its Merits
May 20, 2021 Passed By House. Votes: 23 YES 18 NO
May 20, 2021 Amendment HA 1 to HB 125 - Passed By House. Votes: 41 YES
May 20, 2021 Amendment HA 2 to HB 125 - Defeated By House. Votes: 18 YES 23 NO
May 20, 2021 Assigned to Judiciary Committee in Senate
May 17, 2021 Amendment HA 2 to HB 125 - Introduced and Placed With Bill
Apr 21, 2021 Amendment HA 1 to HB 125 - Introduced and Placed With Bill
Mar 16, 2021 Reported Out of Committee (Administration) in House with 1 Favorable, 2 On Its Merits
Mar 11, 2021 Introduced and Assigned to Administration Committee in House
Type Date State Link Text
Engrossed not available state link bill text
Draft not available state link bill text
Title Description Date State Link Text Adopted
There are no amendments to this bill at this time
Votes - Click on description to view vote roll call
Description Vote Date Yea Votes Nay Votes No Votes Absent Passed
05/20/2021 23 18 0 0 Yes
  • Baumbach, Paul (D) Yea
  • Bennett, Andria (D) Nay
  • Bentz, David (D) Yea
  • Bolden, Stephanie (D) Yea
  • Brady, Gerald (D) Yea
  • Briggs King, Ruth (R) Nay
  • Bush, William (D) Nay
  • Carson, William (D) Nay
  • Chukwuocha, Nnamdi (D) Yea
  • Collins, Richard (R) Nay
  • Cooke, Franklin (D) Yea
  • Dorsey Walker, Sherry (D) Yea
  • Dukes, Timothy (R) Nay
  • Gray, Ronald (R) Nay
  • Griffith, Krista (D) Yea
  • Heffernan, Debra (D) Yea
  • Hensley, Kevin (R) Nay
  • Johnson, Kendra (D) Yea
  • Kowalko, John (D) Yea
  • Lambert, Larry (D) Yea
  • Longhurst, Valerie (D) Yea
  • Lynn, Sean (D) Yea
  • Matthews, Sean (D) Yea
  • Minor-Brown, Melissa (D) Yea
  • Mitchell, John (D) Yea
  • Moore, Sherae'a (D) Yea
  • Morris, Shannon (R) Nay
  • Morrison, Eric (D) Yea
  • Osienski, Edward (D) Yea
  • Postles, Charles (R) Nay
  • Ramone, Michael (R) Nay
  • Schwartzkopf, Peter (D) Yea
  • Short, Daniel (R) Nay
  • Shupe, Bryan (R) Nay
  • Smith, Michael (R) Nay
  • Smyk, Stephen (R) Nay
  • Spiegelman, Jeffrey (R) Nay
  • Vanderwende, Jesse (R) Nay
  • Williams, Kimberly (D) Yea
  • Wilson-Anton, Madinah (D) Yea
  • Yearick, Lyndon (R) Nay
resort votes by: party yeas nays name
06/15/2021 13 8 0 0 Yes
  • Bonini, Colin (R) Nay
  • Brown, Darius (D) Yea
  • Ennis, Bruce (D) Nay
  • Gay, Kyle (D) Yea
  • Hansen, Stephanie (D) Nay
  • Hocker, Gerald (R) Nay
  • Lawson, David (R) Nay
  • Lockman, Elizabeth (D) Yea
  • Lopez, Ernesto (R) Yea
  • Mantzavinos, Spiros (D) Yea
  • McBride, Sarah (D) Yea
  • Paradee, W. Charles (D) Yea
  • Pettyjohn, Brian (R) Nay
  • Pinkney, Marie (D) Yea
  • Poore, Nicole (D) Yea
  • Richardson, Bryant (R) Nay
  • Sokola, David (D) Yea
  • Sturgeon, Laura (D) Yea
  • Townsend, Bryan (D) Yea
  • Walsh, John (D) Yea
  • Wilson, David (R) Nay
resort votes by: party yeas nays name

Link: link to state bill page

Discuss this bill and other firearm related topics in our discussion forum