Help us keep you informed about new legislation that could effect your right to bear arms. Even a small donation helps us keep this running. Please consider signing up for a paying membership or making a donation, every little bit helps.

toggle menu

Proposed Connecticut Firearm Legislation HB05040

  this is an anti-gun bill
Legislation Overview

Title: An Act Establishing An Excise Tax On Ammunition.

Description: To establish an excise tax on ammunition to increase funding for gun violence prevention and reduction efforts.

Session: 2020 General Assembly

Last Action: Public Hearing 02/27

Last Action Date: February 21, 2020


Note: the first sponsor listed is normally the primary sponsor. If a sponsor's name is a hyperlink you can click on it to 'follow the money'.

6 sponsors: Jillian Gilchrest (D); Joshua Elliott (D); Steven Stafstrom (D); Quentin Phipps (D); Joshua Hall (D); Will Haskell (D);

Percentage of House Of Representatives sponsoring bill: 4% (6 of 151)

Chamber Date Action
House Feb 21, 2020 Public Hearing 02/27
House Feb 19, 2020 Reserved for Subject Matter Public Hearing
House Feb 10, 2020 Referred to Joint Committee on Finance, Revenue and Bonding
Type Date State Link Text
Introduced Feb 7, 2020 state link bill text
Title Description Date State Link Text Adopted
There are no amendments to this bill at this time
Votes - Click on description to view vote roll call
Description Vote Date Yea Votes Nay Votes No Votes Absent Passed
02/19/2020 26 18 0 7 Yes
  • Altobello, Emil (D) Yea
  • Barry, Jill (D) Yea
  • Butler, Larry (D) Yea
  • Candelora, Vincent (R) Nay
  • Carney, Devin (R) Nay
  • Cassano, Stephen (D) Yea
  • Cheeseman, Holly (R) Nay
  • Concepcion, Julio (D) Yea
  • Davis, Christopher (R) Absent
  • Devlin, Laura (R) Nay
  • Doucette, Jason (D) Yea
  • Elliott, Joshua (D) Yea
  • Farnen, Brian (R) Nay
  • Floren, Olivia (R) Absent
  • Fonfara, John (D) Yea
  • Frey, John (R) Absent
  • Gresko, Joseph (D) Nay
  • Hennessy, John (D) Yea
  • Hill, Leslee (R) Nay
  • Klarides-Ditria, Nicole (R) Nay
  • Lemar, Roland (D) Yea
  • Leone, Carlo (D) Yea
  • Logan, George (R) Nay
  • Lopes, Rick (D) Absent
  • Maroney, James (D) Nay
  • Martin, Henri (R) Nay
  • McCrory, Douglas (D) Yea
  • Meskers, Stephen (D) Yea
  • Miller, Patricia (D) Yea
  • Moore, Marilyn (D) Yea
  • Morin, Russell (D) Yea
  • Mushinsky, Mary (D) Yea
  • Napoli, Ronald (D) Yea
  • Needleman, Norman (D) Nay
  • Paolillo, Alphonse (D) Yea
  • Perillo, Jason (R) Absent
  • Perone, Christopher (D) Yea
  • Phipps, Quentin (D) Yea
  • Piscopo, John (R) Nay
  • Polletta, Joe (R) Absent
  • Rojas, Jason (D) Yea
  • Sampson, Robert (R) Nay
  • Sanchez, Robert (D) Yea
  • Santiago, Hilda (D) Yea
  • Scanlon, Sean (D) Yea
  • Stafstrom, Steven (D) Absent
  • Szeps Wood, Kerry (D) Yea
  • Witkos, Kevin (R) Nay
  • Wood, Terrie (R) Nay
  • Yaccarino, Dave (R) Nay
  • Zullo, Joseph (R) Nay
resort votes by: party yeas nays name

Link: link to state bill page

Discuss this bill and other firearm related topics in our discussion forum