Update January 15, 2021: Due to the current crack down on conservative websites by 'big tech' we have removed all Google Adsense ads from this site. If you would like to help us offset this loss of income please click here to donate.

toggle menu

Passed California Firearm Legislation SCR151

  this is an anti-gun bill
Legislation Overview

Title: Firearms: ASK (Asking Saves Kids) Campaign.

Description: Relative to firearm safety.

Session: 2017-2018 Regular Session

Last Action: Chaptered by Secretary of State. Res. Chapter 184, Statutes of 2018.

Last Action Date: September 4, 2018


Note: the first sponsor listed is normally the primary sponsor. If a sponsor's name is a hyperlink you can click on it to 'follow the money'.

55 sponsors: Richard Pan (D); Cecilia Aguiar-Curry (D); Joaquin Arambula (D); Catharine Baker (R); Marc Berman (D); Richard Bloom (D); Rob Bonta (D); Autumn Burke (D); Anna Caballero (D); Ian Calderon (D); Wendy Carrillo (D); Sabrina Cervantes (D); Edwin Chau (D); David Chiu (D); Kansen Chu (D); Jim Cooper (D); Susan Eggman (D); Jim Frazier (D); Laura Friedman (D); Jesse Gabriel (D); Eduardo Garcia (D); Cristina Garcia (D); Mike Gipson (D); Todd Gloria (D); Lorena Gonzalez Fletcher (D); Adam Gray (D); Chris Holden (D); Reginald Jones-Sawyer (D); Ash Kalra (D); Sydney Kamlager-Dove (D);Tom Lackey (R); Marc Levine (D); Monique Limon (D); Evan Low (D); Brian Maienschein (R); Kevin McCarty (D); Jose Medina (D); Kevin Mullin (D); Al Muratsuchi (D); Adrin Nazarian (D); Patrick O'Donnell (D); Bill Quirk (D); Sharon Quirk-Silva (D); Anthony Rendon (D); Eloise Reyes (D); Luz Rivas (D); Freddie Rodriguez (D); Blanca Rubio (D); Rudy Salas (D); Miguel Santiago (D); Mark Stone (D); Tony Thurmond (D); Philip Ting (D); Shirley Weber (D); Jim Wood (D);

Percentage of Senate sponsoring bill: 138% (55 of 40)

Chamber Date Action
Senate Sep 4, 2018 Chaptered by Secretary of State. Res. Chapter 184, Statutes of 2018.
Senate Sep 4, 2018 Enrolled and filed with the Secretary of State at 3 p.m.
Senate Aug 24, 2018 In Senate. Ordered to engrossing and enrolling.
Assembly Aug 23, 2018 Coauthors revised.
Assembly Aug 23, 2018 Read. Adopted. Ordered to the Senate.
Assembly Aug 9, 2018 From committee: Be adopted. Ordered to third reading. (Ayes 7. Noes 1.) (August 9).
Assembly Jun 28, 2018 Referred to Com. on RLS.
Assembly Jun 21, 2018 In Assembly. Held at Desk.
Senate Jun 21, 2018 Read. Adopted. (Ayes 33. Noes 2. Page 4824.) Ordered to the Assembly.
Senate Jun 13, 2018 From committee: Ordered to third reading.
Senate Jun 6, 2018 Introduced. Referred to Com. on RLS.
Type Date State Link Text
Chaptered Sep 4, 2018 state link bill text
Enrolled Aug 28, 2018 state link bill text
Introduced Jun 6, 2018 state link bill text
Title Description Date State Link Text Adopted
There are no amendments to this bill at this time
Votes - Click on description to view vote roll call
Description Vote Date Yea Votes Nay Votes No Votes Absent Passed
06/21/2018 33 2 4 0 Yes
  • Allen, Benjamin (D) Yea
  • Anderson, Joel (R) Nay
  • Atkins, Toni (D) Yea
  • Bates, Patricia (R) Yea
  • Beall, Jim (D) Yea
  • Berryhill, Tom (R) NV
  • Bradford, Steven (D) Yea
  • Cannella, Anthony (R) Yea
  • de Leon, Kevin (D) Yea
  • Dodd, Bill (D) Yea
  • Fuller, Jean (R) Yea
  • Gaines, Ted (R) Yea
  • Galgiani, Cathleen (D) Yea
  • Glazer, Steve (D) Yea
  • Hernandez, Edward (D) Yea
  • Hertzberg, Bob (D) Yea
  • Hill, Jerry (D) Yea
  • Hueso, Benjamin (D) Yea
  • Jackson, Hannah-Beth (D) Yea
  • Lara, Ricardo (D) Yea
  • Leyva, Connie (D) Yea
  • McGuire, Mike (D) Yea
  • Mitchell, Holly (D) Yea
  • Monning, William (D) Yea
  • Moorlach, John (R) NV
  • Morrell, Mike (R) Nay
  • Newman, Josh (D) NV
  • Nguyen, Janet (R) Yea
  • Nielsen, Jim (R) Yea
  • Pan, Richard (D) Yea
  • Portantino, Anthony (D) Yea
  • Roth, Richard (D) Yea
  • Skinner, Nancy (D) Yea
  • Stern, Henry (D) Yea
  • Stone, Jeff (R) Yea
  • Vidak, Andy (R) NV
  • Wieckowski, Bob (D) Yea
  • Wiener, Scott (D) Yea
  • Wilk, Scott (R) Yea
resort votes by: party yeas nays name
08/9/2018 7 1 3 0 Yes
  • Carrillo, Wendy (D) Yea
  • Cervantes, Sabrina (D) Yea
  • Cooley, Ken (D) Yea
  • Cunningham, Jordan (R) NV
  • Gallagher, James (R) Nay
  • Grayson, Tim (D) Yea
  • Kamlager-Dove, Sydney (D) Yea
  • Mayes, Chad (R) NV
  • Nazarian, Adrin (D) Yea
  • Salas, Rudy (D) Yea
  • Waldron, Marie (R) NV
resort votes by: party yeas nays name
08/23/2018 56 15 9 0 Yes
  • Acosta, Dante (R) Yea
  • Aguiar-Curry, Cecilia (D) Yea
  • Allen, Travis (R) NV
  • Arambula, Joaquin (D) Yea
  • Baker, Catharine (R) Yea
  • Berman, Marc (D) Yea
  • Bigelow, Franklin (R) Nay
  • Bloom, Richard (D) Yea
  • Bonta, Rob (D) Yea
  • Brough, William (R) Nay
  • Burke, Autumn (D) Yea
  • Caballero, Anna (D) Yea
  • Calderon, Ian (D) Yea
  • Carrillo, Wendy (D) Yea
  • Cervantes, Sabrina (D) Yea
  • Chau, Edwin (D) Yea
  • Chavez, Rocky (R) Nay
  • Chen, Phillip (R) Nay
  • Chiu, David (D) Yea
  • Choi, Steven (R) NV
  • Chu, Kansen (D) Yea
  • Cooley, Ken (D) NV
  • Cooper, Jim (D) Yea
  • Cunningham, Jordan (R) NV
  • Dahle, Brian (R) NV
  • Daly, Tom (D) NV
  • Eggman, Susan (D) Yea
  • Flora, Heath (R) Nay
  • Fong, Vince (R) Nay
  • Frazier, Jim (D) Yea
  • Friedman, Laura (D) Yea
  • Gallagher, James (R) Nay
  • Garcia, Cristina (D) Yea
  • Garcia, Eduardo (D) Yea
  • Gipson, Mike (D) Yea
  • Gloria, Todd (D) Yea
  • Gonzalez Fletcher, Lorena (D) Yea
  • Gray, Adam (D) Yea
  • Grayson, Tim (D) Nay
  • Harper, Matthew (R) Nay
  • Holden, Chris (D) Yea
  • Irwin, Jacqui (D) Yea
  • Jones-Sawyer, Reginald (D) Yea
  • Kalra, Ash (D) Yea
  • Kamlager-Dove, Sydney (D) Yea
  • Kiley, Kevin (R) NV
  • Lackey, Tom (R) Yea
  • Levine, Marc (D) Yea
  • Limon, Monique (D) Yea
  • Low, Evan (D) Yea
  • Maienschein, Brian (R) Yea
  • Mathis, Devon (R) Nay
  • Mayes, Chad (R) NV
  • McCarty, Kevin (D) Yea
  • Medina, Jose (D) Yea
  • Melendez, Melissa (R) NV
  • Mullin, Kevin (D) Yea
  • Muratsuchi, Al (D) Yea
  • Nazarian, Adrin (D) Yea
  • Obernolte, Jay (R) Nay
  • O'Donnell, Patrick (D) Yea
  • Patterson, Jim (R) Nay
  • Quirk, Bill (D) Yea
  • Quirk-Silva, Sharon (D) Yea
  • Rendon, Anthony (D) Yea
  • Reyes, Eloise (D) Yea
  • Rodriguez, Freddie (D) Yea
  • Rubio, Blanca (D) Yea
  • Salas, Rudy (D) Yea
  • Santiago, Miguel (D) Yea
  • Steinorth, Marc (R) Nay
  • Stone, Mark (D) Yea
  • Thurmond, Tony (D) Yea
  • Ting, Philip (D) Yea
  • Voepel, Randy (R) Nay
  • Waldron, Marie (R) Nay
  • Weber, Shirley (D) Yea
  • Wood, Jim (D) Yea
resort votes by: party yeas nays name

Link: link to state bill page

Discuss this bill and other firearm related topics in our discussion forum

Comments On This Bill

We want you to speak your mind but please keep your comments 'family friendly'.