Update January 15, 2021: Due to the current crack down on conservative websites by 'big tech' we have removed all Google Adsense ads from this site. If you would like to help us offset this loss of income please click here to donate.

toggle menu

Proposed California Firearm Legislation ACR87

  this is an anti-gun bill
Legislation Overview

Title: National Gun Violence Awareness Day

Description: Relative to National Gun Violence Awareness Day.

Session: 2021-2022 Regular Session

Last Action: Chaptered by Secretary of State - Res. Chapter 102, Statutes of 2021.

Last Action Date: August 23, 2021


Note: the first sponsor listed is normally the primary sponsor. If a sponsor's name is a hyperlink you can click on it to 'follow the money'.

74 sponsors: Mike Gipson (D); Cecilia Aguiar-Curry (D); Akilah Weber (D); Joaquin Arambula (D); Rebecca Bauer-Kahan (D); Steve Bennett (D); Marc Berman (D); Blanca Rubio (D); Richard Bloom (D); Tasha Horvath (D); Isaac Bryan (D);Autumn Burke (D); Lisa Calderon (D); Wendy Carrillo (D); Sabrina Cervantes (D); Edwin Chau (D); David Chiu (D); Steven Choi (R); Ken Cooley (D); Jim Cooper (D); Cristina Garcia (D); Jordan Cunningham (R); Tom Daly (D); Laurie Davies (R); Eduardo Garcia (D); Heath Flora (R); Vince Fong (R); Jim Frazier (D); Laura Friedman (D); Jesse Gabriel (D); James Gallagher (R); Adam Gray (D); Tim Grayson (D); Chris Holden (D); Jacqui Irwin (D); Reginald Jones-Sawyer (D); Ash Kalra (D); Tom Lackey (R); Alex Lee (D); Marc Levine (D); Lorena Gonzalez Fletcher (D); Evan Low (D); Luz Rivas (D); Brian Maienschein (D); Devon Mathis (R); Chad Mayes (I); Kevin McCarty (D); Jose Medina (D); Megan Dahle (R); Kevin Mullin (D); Al Muratsuchi (D); Adrin Nazarian (D); Janet Nguyen (R); Patrick O'Donnell (D); Cottie Petrie-Norris (D); Bill Quirk (D); Sharon Quirk-Silva (D); James Ramos (D); Anthony Rendon (D); Eloise Reyes (D); Robert Rivas (D); Freddie Rodriguez (D); Rudy Salas (D); Miguel Santiago (D); Kelly Seyarto (R); Thurston Smith (R); Mark Stone (D); Philip Ting (D); Suzette Martinez Valladares (R); Carlos Villapudua (D); Randy Voepel (R); Chris Ward (D); Buffy Wicks (D); Jim Wood (D);

Percentage of State Assembly sponsoring bill: 93% (74 of 80)

Chamber Date Action
Aug 23, 2021 Chaptered by Secretary of State - Res. Chapter 102, Statutes of 2021.
Aug 23, 2021 Enrolled and filed with the Secretary of State at 11 a.m.
Assembly Aug 16, 2021 In Assembly. Ordered to Engrossing and Enrolling.
Senate Aug 16, 2021 Adopted and to Assembly. (Ayes 39. Noes 0.)
Senate Jun 16, 2021 From committee: Ordered to third reading.
Senate Jun 7, 2021 In Senate. To Com. on RLS.
Assembly Jun 3, 2021 Adopted and to Senate.
Assembly Jun 3, 2021 Coauthors revised.
Assembly May 28, 2021 From committee: Be adopted. Ordered to Third Reading. (Ayes 10. Noes 0.) (May 28).
Assembly May 28, 2021 Referred to Com. on RLS.
Assembly May 21, 2021 From printer.
Assembly May 20, 2021 Introduced. To print.
Type Date State Link Text
Chaptered Aug 23, 2021 state link bill text
Enrolled Aug 17, 2021 state link bill text
Introduced May 20, 2021 state link bill text
Title Description Date State Link Text Adopted
There are no amendments to this bill at this time
Votes - Click on description to view vote roll call
Description Vote Date Yea Votes Nay Votes No Votes Absent Passed
05/28/2021 10 0 2 0 Yes
  • Bennett, Steve (D) Yea
  • Cooley, Ken (D) Yea
  • Cunningham, Jordan (R) Yea
  • Flora, Heath (R) NV
  • Gipson, Mike (D) Yea
  • Lee, Alex (D) Yea
  • Maienschein, Brian (R) NV
  • Mathis, Devon (R) Yea
  • Ramos, James (D) Yea
  • Rubio, Blanca (D) Yea
  • Villapudua, Carlos (D) Yea
  • Weber, Akilah (D) Yea
resort votes by: party yeas nays name
08/16/2021 39 0 0 1 Yes
  • Allen, Benjamin (D) Yea
  • Archuleta, Bob (D) Yea
  • Atkins, Toni (D) Yea
  • Bates, Patricia (R) Yea
  • Becker, Josh (D) Yea
  • Borgeas, Andreas (R) Yea
  • Bradford, Steven (D) Yea
  • Caballero, Anna (D) Yea
  • Cortese, Dave (D) Yea
  • Dahle, Brian (R) Yea
  • Dodd, Bill (D) Yea
  • Durazo, Maria (D) Yea
  • Eggman, Susan (D) Yea
  • Glazer, Steve (D) Yea
  • Gonzalez, Lena (D) Yea
  • Grove, Shannon (R) Yea
  • Hertzberg, Bob (D) Yea
  • Hueso, Benjamin (D) Yea
  • Hurtado, Melissa (D) Yea
  • Jones, Brian (R) Yea
  • Kamlager-Dove, Sydney (D) Yea
  • Laird, John (D) Yea
  • Leyva, Connie (D) Yea
  • Limon, Monique (D) Yea
  • McGuire, Mike (D) Yea
  • Melendez, Melissa (R) Yea
  • Min, Dave (D) Yea
  • Newman, Josh (D) Yea
  • Nielsen, Jim (R) Yea
  • Ochoa Bogh, Rosilicie (R) Yea
  • Pan, Richard (D) Yea
  • Portantino, Anthony (D) Yea
  • Roth, Richard (D) Yea
  • Rubio, Susan (D) Yea
  • Skinner, Nancy (D) Yea
  • Stern, Henry (D) Yea
  • Umberg, Tom (D) Absent
  • Wieckowski, Bob (D) Yea
  • Wiener, Scott (D) Yea
  • Wilk, Scott (R) Yea
resort votes by: party yeas nays name

Link: link to state bill page

Discuss this bill and other firearm related topics in our discussion forum

Comments On This Bill

We want you to speak your mind but please keep your comments 'family friendly'.