Act No. 6
Public Acts of 2014
Approved by the Governor
February 11, 2014
Filed with the Secretary of State
February 11, 2014
EFFECTIVE DATE: May 12, 2014
STATE OF MICHIGAN
REGULAR SESSION OF 2014
Introduced by Reps. Kesto, Foster and Heise
ENROLLED HOUSE BILL No. 4717
AN ACT to amend 1927 PA 372, entitled “An act to regulate and license the selling, purchasing, possessing, and carrying of certain firearms, gas ejecting devices, and electro-muscular disruption devices; to prohibit the buying, selling, or carrying of certain firearms, gas ejecting devices, and electro-muscular disruption devices without a license or other authorization; to provide for the forfeiture of firearms and electro-muscular disruption devices under certain circumstances; to provide for penalties and remedies; to provide immunity from civil liability under certain circumstances; to prescribe the powers and duties of certain state and local agencies; to prohibit certain conduct against individuals who apply for or receive a license to carry a concealed pistol; to make appropriations; to prescribe certain conditions for the appropriations; and to repeal all acts and parts of acts inconsistent with this act,” by amending section 4 (MCL 28.424), as added by 1992 PA 219.
The People of the State of Michigan enact:
Sec. 4. (1) A person who is prohibited from possessing, using, transporting, selling, purchasing, carrying, shipping, receiving, or distributing a firearm under section 224f(2) of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.224f, may apply to the concealed weapons licensing board in the county in which he or she resides for restoration of those rights.
(2) A person who is prohibited from possessing, using, transporting, selling, carrying, shipping, or distributing ammunition under section 224f(4) of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.224f, may apply to the concealed weapons licensing board in the county in which he or she resides for restoration of those rights.
(3) Not more than 1 application may be submitted under subsection (1) or (2) in any calendar year. The concealed weapons licensing board may charge a fee of not more than $10.00 for the actual and necessary expenses of each application.
(4) The concealed weapons licensing board shall, by written order of the board, restore the rights of a person to possess, use, transport, sell, purchase, carry, ship, receive, or distribute a firearm or to possess, use, transport, sell, carry, ship, or distribute ammunition if the board determines, by clear and convincing evidence, that all of the following circumstances exist:
(a) The person properly submitted an application for restoration of those rights as provided under this section.
(b) The expiration of 5 years after all of the following circumstances:
(i) The person has paid all fines imposed for the violation resulting in the prohibition.
(ii) The person has served all terms of imprisonment imposed for the violation resulting in the prohibition.
(iii) The person has successfully completed all conditions of probation or parole imposed for the violation resulting in the prohibition.
(c) The person’s record and reputation are such that the person is not likely to act in a manner dangerous to the safety of other persons.
(5) If the concealed weapons licensing board under subsection (4) refuses to restore a right under this section, the person may petition the circuit court for review of that decision.
Enacting section 1. This amendatory act takes effect 90 days after the date it is enacted into law.
Enacting section 2. This amendatory act does not take effect unless House Bill No. 4715 of the 97th Legislature is enacted into law.
This act is ordered to take immediate effect.
Clerk of the House of Representatives
Secretary of the Senate