Help us help us keep you informed about any challenge to your second amendment rights and by helping fight illegal laws in court by making a small donation or becoming a supporting member. Even a small $5.00 donation helps us keep you up to date and fighting for our your rights. We can't do it without your support!

toggle menu

Passed Rhode Island Gun Law S2292

  this is an anti-gun bill
Legislation Overview

Title: Weapons

Subject: Criminal Offenses

Description: Makes possession or use of a semi-automatic weapon rapid fire device to include bump stock, binary trigger or trigger crank punishable by up to ten (10) years imprisonment and/or a ten thousand dollars ($10,000) fine.

Session: 2018 Regular Session

Last Action: Signed by Governor

Last Action Date: June 1, 2018


Note: the first sponsor listed is normally the primary sponsor. If a sponsor's name is a hyperlink you can click on it to 'follow the money'.

5 sponsors: James Seveney (D); Cynthia Coyne (D); Louis Dipalma (D); Ryan Pearson (D); William Conley (D);

Percentage of Senate sponsoring bill: 13% (5 of 38)

Chamber Date Action
Senate Jun 1, 2018 Signed by Governor
Senate May 31, 2018 Transmitted to Governor
House May 31, 2018 House passed Sub A in concurrence
House May 29, 2018 Committee recommends passage of Sub A in concurrence
House May 29, 2018 Placed on House Calendar (05/31/2018)
House May 25, 2018 Referred to House Judiciary
House May 25, 2018 Scheduled for consideration (05/29/2018)
Senate May 24, 2018 Senate passed Sub A
Senate May 22, 2018 Placed on Senate Calendar (05/24/2018)
Senate May 17, 2018 Committee recommends passage of Sub A
Senate May 11, 2018 Scheduled for consideration (05/17/2018)
Senate Mar 6, 2018 Committee recommended measure be held for further study
Senate Mar 2, 2018 Scheduled for hearing and/or consideration (03/06/2018)
Senate Feb 1, 2018 Introduced, referred to Senate Judiciary
Type Date State Link Text
Comm Sub May 17, 2018 state link bill text
Introduced Feb 1, 2018 state link bill text
Title Description Date State Link Text Adopted
There are no amendments to this bill at this time
Votes - Click on description to view vote roll call
Description Vote Date Yea Votes Nay Votes No Votes Absent Passed
05/24/2018 33 1 3 0 Yes
  • Algiere, Dennis (R) Yea
  • Archambault, Stephen (D) Yea
  • Calkin, Jeanine (D) Yea
  • Cano, Sandra (D) Yea
  • Ciccone, Frank (D) NV
  • Conley, William (D) Yea
  • Cote, Marc (D) Yea
  • Coyne, Cynthia (D) NV
  • Crowley, Elizabeth (D) Yea
  • DaPonte, Daniel (D) NV
  • Dipalma, Louis (D) Yea
  • Euer, Dawn (D) Yea
  • Felag, Walter (D) Yea
  • Fogarty, Paul (D) Yea
  • Gallo, Hanna (D) Yea
  • Gee, Mark (R) Yea
  • Goldin, Gayle (D) Yea
  • Goodwin, Maryellen (D) Yea
  • Jabour, Paul (D) Yea
  • Lombardi, Frank (D) Yea
  • Lombardo, Frank (D) Yea
  • Lynch Prata, Erin (D) Yea
  • McCaffrey, Michael (D) Yea
  • Metts, Harold (D) Yea
  • Miller, Joshua (D) Yea
  • Morgan, Elaine (R) Nay
  • Nesselbush, Donna (D) Yea
  • Paolino, Thomas (R) Yea
  • Pearson, Ryan (D) Yea
  • Picard, Roger (D) Yea
  • Quezada, Ana (D) Yea
  • Raptakis, Leonidas (D) Yea
  • Ruggerio, Dominick (D) Yea
  • Satchell, Adam (D) Yea
  • Seveney, James (D) Yea
  • Sheehan, James (D) Yea
  • Sosnowski, V. Susan (D) Yea
resort votes by: party yeas nays name
05/31/2018 69 2 4 0 Yes
  • Abney, Marvin (D) Yea
  • Ackerman, Mia (D) Yea
  • Ajello, Edith (D) Yea
  • Almeida, Joseph (D) Yea
  • Amore, Gregg (D) Yea
  • Azzinaro, Samuel (D) Yea
  • Barros, Jean (D) Yea
  • Bennett, David (D) Yea
  • Blazejewski, Christopher (D) Yea
  • Canario, Dennis (D) NV
  • Carson, Lauren (D) Yea
  • Casey, Stephen (D) Yea
  • Casimiro, Julie (D) Yea
  • Chippendale, Michael (R) Yea
  • Corvese, Arthur (D) Yea
  • Costantino, Gregory (D) Yea
  • Coughlin, David (D) Yea
  • Craven, Robert (D) Yea
  • Cunha, Helder (D) Yea
  • Diaz, Grace (D) Yea
  • Donovan, Susan (D) Yea
  • Edwards, John (D) Yea
  • Fellela, Deborah (D) Yea
  • Filippi, Blake (I) Yea
  • Fogarty, Kathleen (D) Yea
  • Giarrusso, Antonio (R) Yea
  • Handy, Arthur (D) Yea
  • Hearn, Joy (D) Yea
  • Hull, Raymond (D) Yea
  • Jacquard, Robert (D) Yea
  • Johnston, Raymond (D) Yea
  • Kazarian, Katherine (D) Yea
  • Keable, Cale (D) Yea
  • Kennedy, Brian (D) Yea
  • Knight, Jason (D) Yea
  • Lancia, Robert (R) Yea
  • Lima, Charlene (D) Yea
  • Lombardi, John (D) Yea
  • Maldonado, Shelby (D) Yea
  • Marshall, Kenneth (D) Yea
  • Marszalkowski, Alex (D) Yea
  • Mattiello, Nicholas (D) Yea
  • McEntee, Carol (D) Yea
  • McKiernan, Daniel (D) Yea
  • McLaughlin, James (D) Yea
  • McNamara, Joseph (D) Yea
  • Mendonca, Kenneth (R) Yea
  • Messier, Mary (D) Yea
  • Morgan, Patricia (R) Yea
  • Morin, Michael (D) Yea
  • Nardolillo, Robert (R) Yea
  • Newberry, Brian (R) Yea
  • Nunes, Jared (D) NV
  • O'Brien, William (D) Yea
  • O'Grady, Jeremiah (D) Yea
  • Perez, Ramon (D) NV
  • Phillips, Robert (D) Yea
  • Price, Justin (R) Nay
  • Quattrocchi, Robert (R) NV
  • Ranglin-Vassell, Marcia (D) Yea
  • Regunberg, Aaron (D) Yea
  • Roberts, Sherry (R) Nay
  • Ruggiero, Deborah (D) Yea
  • Serpa, Patricia (D) Yea
  • Shanley, Evan (D) Yea
  • Shekarchi, K. Joseph (D) Yea
  • Slater, Scott (D) Yea
  • Solomon, Joseph (D) Yea
  • Tanzi, Teresa (D) Yea
  • Tobon, Carlos (D) Yea
  • Ucci, Stephen (D) Yea
  • Vella-wilkinson, Camille (D) Yea
  • Walsh, Moira (D) Yea
  • Williams, Anastasia (D) Yea
  • Winfield, Thomas (D) Yea
resort votes by: party yeas nays name

Link: link to state bill page

Discuss this bill and other firearm related topics in our discussion forum

Comments On This Bill

We want you to speak your mind but please keep your comments 'family friendly'.