Help us help you through what is guaranteed to be a rough year for gun owners in 2016 by making a small donation or becoming a supporting member. Even a small $5.00 donation helps us keep you up to date on challenges to your rights and informed on all firearm related information.

toggle menu

State Permit Reciprocity

To find what states honor your permit(s) please select the issuing state: (make sure to read the details at the bottom of the page)


States that issue non-resident licenses / permits:

Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Minnesota, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Nevada, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington,

States that do not honor any license / permit:

California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Massachusetts, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island,

States that (MAY) only honor resident licences / permits:

Colorado, Florida, Maine, Michigan, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Virginia, Wisconsin,


Virginia governor signs HB1163 and SB610 opening up acceptance of all permits from all states. February 26, 2016

Virginia will stop recognizing permits from 25 states as of February 1, 2016

Minnesota recognizes Delaware, Idaho (Enhanced permit only), Illinois, New Jersey, New Mexico, Rhode Island, South Carolina (Enhanced permit only), South Dakota permits. August 12, 2015

Minnesota no longer recognizes Missouri, Texas, Utah, Wyoming permits. August 12, 2015

Minnesota recognizes North Dakota (class 1 only) permits. August 12, 2015 Link

North Dakota recognizes Minnesota permits. August 12, 2015 Link

Nevada recognizes West Virginia permits. August 5, 2015 Link

West Virginia recognizes Nevada permits. August 5, 2015 Link

Pennsylvania recognizes Ohio permits. April 13, 2015

Georgia recognizes Ohio permits. March 25, 2015

Colorado recognizes Ohio permits. March 25, 2015

Wisconsin recognizes Ohio permits issued or renewed on or after 3/22/2015. March 25, 2015

Ohio recognizes any permit. March 23, 2015

New Mexico and Alaska have reciprocity. January 5, 2015

Nevada and Louisiana no longer have reciprocity. September 8, 2014

Montana honors Illinois permit. August 4, 2014

Nevada honors Illinois permit. July 31, 2014

Pennsylvania now recognizes Utah resident permit. June 26, 2014

Nebraska honors Illiois permits. June 22, 2014

Pennsylvania no longer honors Utah permit. May 12, 2014

Viginia now recognizes Kansas permits. May 8, 2014 link

Washington now recognizes Kansas permits. May 8, 2014 link

Wisconsin now recognizes Illinois permits. April 7, 2014 Link

Wisconsin now recognizes Missouri permits. January 20, 2014 Link

Alabama and West Virginia now recognize each others permits. December 13, 2013 Link

West Virginia now honors Iowa, November 1, 2013

West Virginia and New Hampshire honor each other's permits, October 28, 2013

Virginia now honors Idaho enhanced permit (only), October 25, 2013

South Carolina now honors the Idaho enhanced permit (only), Sept 24, 2013

Virginia no longer honors Missouri, Sept 14, 2013

South Carolina now honors New Mexico, August 28, 2013

West Virginia and Colorado now honor each other's permits, August 23, 2013

Arkansas now honors all other states permits & licenses, August 16, 2013

West Virginia and Georgia now honor each others permits, August 12, 2013

Pennsylvania no longer honors Idaho. Nevada no longer honors Missouri and Rhode Island. Nevada now honors North Dakota and Idaho. West Virginia now honors Idaho. Alabama now honors all other states permits & licenses, August 1, 2013

New Mexico now honors the Idaho 'Enhanced Permit.' PA Honors Kansas, July 20, 2013

Idaho now recognizes New Mexico permit, July 19, 2013

Illinois now a shall issue state, July 9, 2013

Kansas now honors all other states permits & licenses. Georgia and Wyoming honor Kansas, July 1, 2013

Wyoming will honor New Mexico, May 24, 2013

New Mexico honors Wyoming and Nevada, May 24, 2013

Louisiana honors New Mexico, May 24, 2013

Virginia now honors Wisconsin permit, May 2, 2013

Washingon no longer honors Florida permit, April 29, 2013

Pennsylvania only honors Mississippi resident permits, April 22, 2013

Pennsylvania only honors Virginia and Arizona resident permits, April 11, 2013

New Mexico now honors South Carolina, April 10, 2013

Pennsylvania only honors Maine resident permit, April 1, 2013

Wisconsin now honors Alaska permits issued or renewed after January 13, 2013, March 29, 2013

New Mexico honors Alaska permits, March 29, 2013

South Carolina now honors North Dakota, March 22, 2013

Nevada no longer honors Arizona permits, March 4, 2013 link

Pennsylvania will not honor any Florida non-resident permit held by a Pennsylvania resident, February 2013

back to top