Help us help us keep you informed about any challenge to your second amendment rights by making a small donation or becoming a supporting member. Even a small $5.00 donation helps us keep you up to date on your rights and informed on all firearm related information. We can't do it without your support!

toggle menu

Proposed Federal Gun Legislation HB367

  this is an pro-gun bill
Legislation Overview

Title: Hearing Protection Act of 2017

Subject: Taxation: Federal preemption: Firearms and explosives: Licensing and registrations: Sales and excise taxes: State and local taxation

Description: Hearing Protection Act of 2017 This bill amends the Internal Revenue Code to: (1) eliminate the $200 transfer tax on firearm silencers, and (2) treat any person who acquires or possesses a firearm silencer as meeting any registration or licensing requirements of the National Firearms Act with respect to such silencer. Any person who pays a transfer tax on a silencer after October 22, 2015, may receive a refund of such tax. The bill amends the federal criminal code to preempt state or local laws that tax or regulate firearm silencers.

Session: 115th Congress

Last Action: Referred to the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, Homeland Security, and Investigations.

Last Action Date: February 6, 2017

Link: NA


Note: the first sponsor listed is normally the primary sponsor. If a sponsor's name is a hyperlink you can click on it to 'follow the money'.

166 sponsors: Jeff Duncan (R); John Carter (R); Gene Green (D); Austin Scott (R); Andy Biggs (R); Paul Gosar (R); Richard Hudson (R); Doug LaMalfa (R); Andy Harris (R); Bruce Westerman (R); Pete Olson (R); Jason Chaffetz (R); Jeb Hensarling (R); Earl Carter (R); Raul Labrador (R); Mo Brooks (R); Lamar Smith (R); Rob Bishop (R); Dave Brat (R); Ralph Abraham (R); Gary Palmer (R); Mia Love (R); Jim Bridenstine (R); Chris Stewart (R); Roger Marshall (R); Tom Emmer (R); John Ratcliffe (R); Jody Hice (R); Ken Buck (R); Randy Weber (R); Luke Messer (R); Alexander Mooney (R); Ron DeSantis (R); Dan Newhouse (R); Jason Smith (R); Tom Graves (R); Doug Lamborn (R); Brad Wenstrup (R); Mike D. Rogers (R); Scott DesJarlais (R); Thomas Massie (R); Steve King (R); Louie Gohmert (R); Kevin Yoder (R); Kevin Cramer (R); Trent Franks (R); Bill Shuster (R); Glenn Grothman (R); Ted Budd (R); Todd Rokita (R); Mike Kelly (R); Tom McClintock (R); Harold Rogers (R); David Roe (R); Evan Jenkins (R); Jim Banks (R); Pete Sessions (R); Morgan Griffith (R); David Rouzer (R); Mark Walker (R); John Moolenaar (R); Brian Babin (R); Eric Crawford (R); Roger Williams (R); Tim Walberg (R); Kenny Marchant (R); Jackie Walorski (R); French Hill (R); Robert Wittman (R); Steve Womack (R); Mark Meadows (R); David Young (R); Matt Gaetz (R); Trent Kelly (R); Bradley Byrne (R); Neal Dunn (R); David Valadao (R); Blaine Luetkemeyer (R); Robert Latta (R); Glenn Thompson (R); Thomas Garrett (R); Chris Collins (R); Lee Zeldin (R); Mac Thornberry (R); Paul Mitchell (R); Brian Mast (R); Sam Johnson (R); James Renacci (R); Bill Johnson (R); Doug Collins (R); James Comer (R); Jim Jordan (R); Clay Higgins (R); Diane Black (R); Robert Aderholt (R); David Kustoff (R); Virginia Foxx (R); Blake Farenthold (R); Mark Amodei (R); Garland Barr (R); Drew Ferguson (R); Steve Scalise (R); John Culberson (R); Ted Poe (R); Scott Perry (R); Tom Marino (R); Vicky Hartzler (R); Steve Chabot (R); Charles Fleischmann (R); Patrick Tiberi (R); Trey Gowdy (R); Joe Wilson (R); Bill Flores (R); Tom Rice (R); Duncan Hunter (R); Jack Bergman (R); Rick Allen (R); Claudia Tenney (R); Michael McCaul (R); Marsha Blackburn (R); Jody Arrington (R); Lloyd Smucker (R); Patrick McHenry (R); John Duncan (R); Mike Bishop (R); Henry Cuellar (D); Barry Loudermilk (R); Steve Russell (R); Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R); Stevan Pearce (R); Martha Roby (R); Steven Palazzo (R); John Rutherford (R); Trey Hollingsworth (R); Adrian Smith (R); Don Young (R); Kay Granger (R); Collin Peterson (D); Warren Davidson (R); Ron Estes (R); Lou Barletta (R); Frank Lucas (R); Sam Graves (R); Michael Conaway (R); Bill Huizenga (R); David Schweikert (R); Ted Yoho (R); Greg Walden (R); Mike Coffman (R); Mike Johnson (R); David McKinley (R); Robert Pittenger (R); Markwayne Mullin (R); Dennis Ross (R); Lynn Jenkins (R); Larry Bucshon (R); Ralph Norman (R); Brett Guthrie (R); Billy Long (R); Barbara Comstock (R); George Holding (R); Dana Rohrabacher (R); Greg Gianforte (R); Will Hurd (R); Don Bacon (R); Scott Taylor (R);

Percentage of House Of Representatives sponsoring bill: 38% (166 of 435)

Chamber Date Action
House Feb 6, 2017 Referred to the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, Homeland Security, and Investigations.
House Jan 9, 2017 Introduced in House
House Jan 9, 2017 Referred to the Committee on Ways and Means, and in addition to the Committee on the Judiciary, for a period to be subsequently determined by the Speaker, in each case for consideration of such provisions as fall within the jurisdiction of the committee concerned.
House Jan 9, 2017 Referred to House Ways and Means
House Jan 9, 2017 Referred to House Judiciary
Type Date Federal Link Text
Introduced Jan 20 2017 federal link bill text
Title Description Date State Link Text Adopted
There are no amendments to this bill at this time

Chamber: H

Committee Name: Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, Homeland Security, And Investigations


There have not been any votes on this bill

Discuss this bill and other firearm related topics in our brand new discussion forum

Comments On This Bill

We want you to speak your mind but please keep your comments 'family friendly'.